More about Natto's benefits

in #fermented6 years ago

Natto
What is Natto? It’s a traditional Japanese food made from fermented soybeans (with bacillus subtilis natto). Consuming Natto regularly has many benefits as outlined below:

NattoCover.png

  • Firstly, it is rich in Vitamin K2 and nattokinase; both of these nutrients are excellent at protecting the heart’s health.
  • Vitamin K2 is beneficial for binding calcium to proteins. This results in stronger bones for consumers of natto. Vitamin k2 is different from vitamin K1, which is found in dark leafy greens. K2 is found mostly in fermented foods and natto is rich in K2. Vitamin K2 activates osteocalcin, which prevents calcium from being deposited in the arteries and instead promotes calcium deposits in the bones instead and that’s what we want.

VITAMINK2_InestineBoneBlocks.png

  • Though soybean is a nutritional powerhouse, it is also an anti nutrient. –An antinutrient takes nutrient away from your body. Fermenting soy, takes away this anti nutrient properties, helping our bodies make the most of soybean’s richness. Other forms of fermented soy are Tempeh and misso which are both equally beneficial.

  • Unfermented soy contains phytic acids, which pull nutrients such as calcium, zinc and magnesium out of the body. Unfermented soy also has enzyme inhibitors and goitrogens that challenge the bodies enzymatic and thyroid hormone systems.

  • Another benefit of natto it is rich in amino acids.

  • Natto is anti-inflammatory; nattokinase in natto is the anti-inflammatory, blood thinner and anticlotting agent.

  • Natto is also believed to fight Alzheimer’s disease by destroying toxic amyloid fibrils.

In 1980, a Japanese researcher tested 173 local food in search of one that could help reduce bloodclots. At the end of his test, nattokinase was the one.

As some of you guys might know, I not scared to try most foods. So when it comes to my health, ill try anything. Also, I take note of how my body reacts to the foods I eat. I learned about natto after I found out that I had thyroid nodules- which I no longer have. I started to research ways to nourish my thyroid properly. The doctor said I did not need to do anything at the time, but i knew i had to for my self.
This is how I got into consuming natto. I have to say it really helped.

Please consult with your doctor before beginning this food if interested especially if you have prior health conditions,

References
https://drjockers.com/natto/
image's source- https://drjockers.com/natto/

Sort:  

And finally the much anticipated Natto post is here. Every insightful if I must say giving us all the benefits associated with Natto.

We have soya beans here but I am not sure if I have come acrossany fermented soya.

it’s meant to be fermented with the right bacteria.

I see. It is not what anybody could do unless one has the basic knowledge of the bacterial to use.

Very good your article friend, it is good to encourage people to eat healthy to take care of health, and as you recommend it under medical supervision is better.

Thanks, and you get the point.

How easy is it to prepare natto? I am picky when it comes to food anyway.

I buy it in small packs and eat it with rice and minced onions.

Interesting I've never tried it. I try to stay away from soy but I guess this is different.

This is the better way to consume soy beans. It takes some getting used to and is not for everyone. I like it though.

Happy day friend, and thank you for telling us about this great food that is very healthy for our body, that you have a beautiful day.

Chinese Japanese eats strong and nutritious food

Soybean is our favorite food we eat it twice a week

It’s better to consume it as natto to get the benefits of soybeans.

It's good that you have so many benefits, thanks for sharing.

Never tried that out but looks pretty interesting

Congratulations @leggy23! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59