The truth about Feminism

in #femisim7 years ago (edited)

Feminism has become a trigger word. The stereotypes surrounding the concept include anger towards men, lesbianism, and being physically unattractive. I have considered myself a feminist for years. I have constantly hid my perspective after receiving verbal attack for associating myself with this ideal. I had done no research on feminism and my concept of myself as a feminist was based on fantasy. I stopped using the term until this semester's sociology class. I have been studying the feminist perspective in relation to sociology. I have also been studying critical thinking and I now feel researched enough to revisit the topic.  Women are often shown in the media as being shallow and obsessed with beauty. They are more likely than men to be presented unclothed, in danger, or even physically victimized. Society has become comfortable with this view on women. Women are often referred to as emotional while men are referred to as logical. All of these are examples of problematic stereotypes that the larger population is comfortable accepting as Female characteristics. The feminist perspective would ask society to revise these myths. It is unfair for me to live in a world where my sexual anatomy causes society to accept and look forward to my brutalization. I do not hate men. I am not a lesbian. I am considered physically attractive by an American standard of beauty. I am a feminist because I deserve respect as a human person. I am a feminist because I don't want to be viewed as an unclothed beauty obsessed bimbo. I ask that you revisit the idea. My wish for the world is that one day we can all believe in Race:Human Religion:Love. For now all I ask is respect as a Woman. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05