You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Lady Doth Protest Too Much

in #feminism8 years ago

Perfectly relevant! I agree with your opinion that justification for immoral behavior is invalid. Kind of like I said towards the end of the piece,

This ideology is only good for justifying male misbehavior.

Imagine this: you’re a teenager having sex, and your parents walk into your room. You stop. That alone should is enough evidence that men have control over their sexuality.

Your food analogy was a good point, as well.

Sort:  

I'm glad you pointed out those two points, because I didn't really understand them at first. :)

I'm not going to go defending Freud, but I also can't ignore every sexual animal species on the planet and how the "goal of life" in a very general sense seems to be the propagation of the genes. Yes, we like to think we're not just "animals" but we don't yet understand consciousness well enough to talk intelligently about that (IMO). To me, acknowledging our basic needs and desires helps us know ourselves and can be used in wonderful ways, not just for "misbehavior." If you could expand on that point, maybe I'd better understand what you mean.

As to the teenager having sex example, I'm not arguing men have no control. I hope @sean-king and other's aren't arguing that either. To me, it's about various levels of impulses and whether or not those are culturally constructed or evolutionarily hard-wired. And, beyond that, how powerful they are within one individual compared to another and what mechanisms are involved in the brain as far as pain/pleasure and positive/negative consequences for various behaviors. In the example you gave, they stop because the consequences of continuing in front of your parents would probably be quite high (within our current cultural framework). In other situations (such as a party, with alcohol), those consequences are lower and can lead to really bad outcomes. That, to me, in no way justifies immoral behavior, but it should at least be discussed as far as the impulses people feel and how they respond to those impulses.

I'm not going to go defending Freud, but I also can't ignore every sexual animal species on the planet and how the "goal of life" in a very general sense seems to be the propagation of the genes. Yes, we like to think we're not just "animals" but we don't yet understand consciousness well enough to talk intelligently about that (IMO). To me, acknowledging our basic needs and desires helps us know ourselves and can be used in wonderful ways, not just for "misbehavior." If you could expand on that point, maybe I'd better understand what you mean.

I am aware that men and women are "different," in some ways biologically, physically, and mentally. That much is obvious. I don't believe I ever explicitly said I denounce basic science and facts, but I can kind of see how that could be assumed.

I disagree with the prospect that a. evolution can be an excuse for misbehavior, and b. that women have an inherent sexual power over men because of that.

Kind of like a user brought up earlier: I understand that women can exploit men for their sexuality, but that simply doesn't account for the majority. I don't really see how the argument that women have more power can be made with that ideal as the core detail.

You are DONE, get the fuck out of my sight now,
you fucking ignorant bitch

I never said the evolution is an excuse for misbehavior, or that men can't comtrol themselves. Not sure where that stuff is coming from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67851.90
ETH 2487.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51