You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Feminism Means To A Woman In Tech

in #feminism7 years ago

"Women have to pay tax on menstrual products." How about hair products? cosmetics? bras (high heels, elaborate dresses etc.)? You can't expect to be taken seriously with that kind of silly argument(s). All except the magazines part. There should be tech magazines for girls, obviously. Does gender makes developing code easier for boys? Like, with the snap of a finger a boy can have a 100(0+) lines of well-written and documented code? Equality = equal responsibility, and not just being a woman in tech making you special

Sort:  

You sound very defensive about this, and yes I do expect to be taken seriously. What about hair products and cosmetics? Why is the menstrual product tax a silly argument? Women have to pay tax on a necessity item, and men do not experience that burden. I think it's a fair argument, seeing as I am a woman and have to pay that tax. I guess you're annoyed about me making this point because you can't relate to it. Also, you can't equate menstrual products to high heels - YOU can't expect to be taken seriously with that kind of silly argument.

I'm wondering where you read in my writing that women should be automatically accepted into tech just for being women? I said the industry isn't welcoming to women. Perhaps you think gender inequality isn't a problem because it isn't your experience to be treated differently based on an unconscious bias about your gender, but that doesn't mean that you should minimise my experience, or the experience of other women in tech.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06