I, Woman.

in #feminism6 years ago


Jane Eyre
image


The first thing I ever heard,
A shout ‘it’s a girl’
And I became one, can you tell?
Unprepared I was, for what came along with such a powerful declaration
A sweet outlook and pretty dresses were the expectations
Pink hearts and candy crushes drove me to exasperation
‘Not an angry word not a fist thrown’
Was what they told me
‘Sit down cross your legs and pose like stone’
No play is okay if it’s not dollhouses
No role play without some princesses
No outdoor fun, no dancing in the mud and rain
No trucks no guns no video games
‘Just be pretty’ they said
‘You’re a princess, now give a wave’
But what they don’t understand
Is that I’m a bird in flight, can’t be locked down
No cage for me I’m out of your reach
Against stupid stereotypes I fight
Above the glass ceiling I rise
I’ll wear my hair in a bun
Choose to let it loose or lose it all
Undefined by your standards
Nor shamed by your definition of morals
I am strong and fearless, proud to be Me
I am what I am, who I am
Beyond what you want me to be .
Unashamed and Untamed, I stand tall in flip-flops or heels
I am Woman, Unapologetic and Free

Sort:  

hey!! you can enter the contest by @beanz with this poem!! just click her name and look for the womens day contest.. you can put your post there ..

also you can join #teamgirlpowa on discord !

Oh wow oh wow! Thank you for that suggestion. I’ll do that right away. Joining #teamgirlpowa too 💪🏽

I just came across one of your comments on another post. I like your fierce feminism. Sometimes it's necessary to stand straight up and make a point. Anyway, followed you.

I am what I am, who I am
Beyond what you want me to be .
Unashamed and Untamed, I stand tall in flip-flops or heels
I am Woman, Unapologetic and Free

Yes!

Yes! Thanks so much..Following you right back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86