You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On White Feminism

in #feminism6 years ago

I would argue that you can be a white feminist without being white. Heaven knows there are always people of color ready and willing to leap to the defense of whiteness and white women over women of color, especially Black women, especially dark-skinned Black women. Maybe people will think I'm being petty or messy for saying this publicly, but I'm not about to give a free pass to anyone who reveres whiteness, even people of color.

Sort:  

This is where me not being USian comes into play, I guess, as apart from, like, Stacey Dash or Omarosa, I've not seen that. But, then, most of my experience has been on twitter, and my feed is well curated to be full of awesome activists.

Ah, yes—I have a pretty curated Twitter feed as well. And perhaps I am more aware of the issue, being a Black activist myself and involved in the discussions. We (the Black community) tend not to air this kind of thing in mixed company, for reasons I go back and forth about personally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60