You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Myth of the "Biological Clock"

in #feminism6 years ago

Rest is good, but we can't stop the clock altogether....
Only just thinking this dinner time, how my grandmother may have been a cold hearted mother to my mother for not having had a biological clock left to her at all since the age of 12 (Peritonitis extended to uterus: hysterrectomy).

There has to be so much she never "got" that was relevant to her daughter. Periods were a massive source of messy irritation for my grandmother, not my mother who had them and did her best not to make a mess with the limited means/washable ill fitting pads that were available back then; the pregnancies/childbirths of my mother was ignored by her; and bonding never appreciated. It made her seem quite autistic to our minds, locked up in herself, and poorly grounded somehow (always twisting ankles for it). It is a pity she never wanted to understand herself (or could not, with the age not ripe for it) and how not having become a mother does redefine your womanhood (in an interesting way). You have to make peace with that and it's got very little to do with nature as you so aptly point out. It is precisely about emphasising the I Am that any I is once it makes conscious decisions. The non-mothers may serve to lead the mothers out into a more conscious front of clear choice, rather than automatic pilot (bio-clock).

Basically I am echoing all your valid arguments why people should not interfere with personal choices regards having children. It's a bit arrogant, aswell, to assume we "have"a baby like something off a menu. You are lucky to get pregnant and for the bun to rise in the oven as per the standard recipe (in sound health). A gardener gardens but the plant grows.

It is not even so much a private affair but more an intimate one (shall we leave it up to love!?).

As marginal note, it is unmistakeable from the perspective of a parent, that the women I know who do not have children (regardless of having given birth or not) - at 40 to 60 - are a different type of woman than the mothers. (The same can be said for fathers who care about their children - which is far from "natural"!) I come very close to falling into that group of not-the-mother-type women, because I'm more a selfish arty type. I have a Virgo ascendant which helps where a natural wish to become a mother never much existed, beyond the curiosity of this creative faculty I didn't really expect to have much of (I seemed infertile most of my life).

From that perspective I can say, in my personal case, a spiritual perspective furthermore, motherhood healed or fixed something for me nothing else might have been able to. Not all childless women need to "be sorted out by a child"! Some women are simply not meant to be a mother (even if they are naturally cut out to be one). Besides giving birth (as prompted once upon a time by ovulation) is no way near the same thing as mothering. Childless mothers can still mother (cats and dogs or great aunts and the homeless).

In sum, the whole debate whether to consider motherhood or not should be left in the domain of intuition. I challenge anybody to intuit accurately for anybody else (technically possible but highly rare) and they may gently, indirectly, suggest something worth mulling over on that front, in your own good time. More in support of your own as yet unspoken notions. Not to accommodate traditional expectations. God! How can such boring people still exist in 2018!? Tedious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41