Why I Lost Respect For Most Feminists I Know, And Why I Refuse To Call Myself One

in #feminism6 years ago

Just for some numbers, I know 52 females that open identify as being feminist and I know 17 males that openly identify as being a feminist, and 0 of the openly transgender people I know openly identify as a feminist. Using their facebook posts over the past year I have accumulated some stats (there is some overlap between categories)


Believes in the gender pay gap

Males: 17/17
Females: 52/52

So to some extent the gender pay gap is real but the exact value is up for debate. I will do a post on this afterward and edit this to link to it but I definitely agree that there is, to some extent, a gap. Its just not as simple as $0.77 to every dollar.

Believes males can be sexually assaulted

Males: 6/17
Females: 24/52

Yes, that is correct. Less than half of the self identifying feminist I know acknowledge that sexual assault happens to males, I know this because I made a post on facebook about it and got a bunch of comments about how this "can't" happen because "sexual assault requires holding power over someone and you can't hold power over a male"

Believes you can be racist towards white people

Males: 10/17
Females: 14/52

So being racist just means discriminating against someone due to their heritage, it has nothing to do with power. So yes you can be racist to a white person. Now, the usual comment I get is "Yeah but you never see people gather around a white person, call them names, and start to hit them because they are white" to which my response is yeah you do. Not that long ago I watched a group of people kick the shit out of a guy because he was "privileged" and born white. And no, it isn't "reverse racism" it is just racism; flat and simple.

Believes females can commit sexual assault

To females:


Males: 8/17
Females: 34/52

To males:


Males: 2/17
Females: 12/52

While females are much less likely to be the one that perpetrates sexual assault, it happens and can happen.


Accepting of transgender people

Males: 15/17
Females: 47/52

So this one I might get picked on because I do not have categories for other and the simple reason is of the 3 openly trans people I know, not one of them openly identifies as a feminist. Now these numbers, I should say, are people that I know and have met in person. Meaning I am not going off of people I only know from the internet.


Advocate for helping those with mental health conditions

Males: 12/17
Females: 51/52

So for me, mental health is a big issue because of the idea of self diagnosing. Many people that I know self diagnose themselves with personality disorders (any psych majors in the house for this one) and while I support them getting treatment, I can't help but lose respect for people that self diagnose. Now in some cases that is a sign of personality disorders (like borderline personality disorder) which is concerning but in other ways it is almost a fad. Now pretty much everyone that goes to uni (everyone I know) has taken a psych class or two as their electives because it is relatively easy and fun, I am included in this populous having taken psych 210 (101, the introductory coarse) and what got changed to 260 (I am not certain what it translates to at other universities but it mostly went over different mental health conditions like depression and personality disorders).


Now I have a relatively small sample size of all of the feminists in the world, however I have seen many online (in the spotlight specifically) that follow similar paths and behaviors. My big problem with feminists like this, which ultimately poison the reason for the cause, is that they "fight for equality" by attempting to create an inequality. These are literally people fighting to create a matriarch. Yes, there is discrimination everywhere but the world as a whole is getting more and more progressive, but this is not the answer 9neither is pandering, I am sorry but ghostbusters was an abomination because it wasn't funny and it kind of ruins the message of the show because it was a giant pandering flop, I have no problem with movies being pro-women like that but maybe try creating a new storyline than taking an old one and changing it to please the crowds)

So I acknowledge that this, by no means, accompanies everyone whom identifies as a feminist but it accompanies my view of it.

Sort:  

Good post. You are absolutely right.

PS: Don't use upvote services. They are against everything steem stands for and do damage to the whole community.

Some people use them for rep builders more than money earners. And really they work perfectly in the proof of brain algorithm as it states someone can use their share to distribute rewards, it doesn't say how you have to do that, nothing says you can't sell your vote. I have read both white papers and the blue paper

That it works and is not forbidden does not mean it's good for the community at a whole.

This post has received a 10.65 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @opticcncfan.

Good post

Follow me @dexabyte,as i did
And upvote posts

Your comment is spam and your reputation shows it. I would suggest you don't make spam comments as often... I promise I won't flag you, but I am not going to upvote you either

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83