You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Radical Mothering

in #feminism7 years ago (edited)

Wow! A lot to take in but I'm with it. As an intersectional feminist who is sex-pos, pro-choice, pro-lgbtq and also pro-mother. - i welcome you and your debate. I believe that trans women are women and that the main thing harming young girls and boys is binary gender socializing (outside of the normal, physical dangers). I fully subscribe to radical feminism and have created a group called #teamgirlpowa we have christians, muslims, pagans, mystics, -- gay and straight men and women, trans and genderfluid or non-binary persons -- sex-positive authors and yes-- lots of amazing mommies!!! Im not oneof them but i totally honor motherhood as work.

I look forward to reading your posts and having discussions and maybe fighting a little but hopefully, ultimately respecting one another.

Welcome.

Sort:  

Totally willing to engage in respectful debate. I just ask that we operate on facts and not feelings. I won't police your language, but I also expect that you won't have the expectation that I use your language. I will never call a man a woman. I will never say that transwomen are women, because they are not. Sex is objectively observed and not really up for debate at all. It is not changeable. I will agree that societal conditioning is a problem... and it manifests in gender ideology.

Intersectional feminism was never meant to intersect being male with women's liberation.

Thanks for the welcome and I look forward to more engagement!

Its a huge hill to get around. I'm not sure I can go to the other side now that i have had in depth friendships and relationships with trans men , trans women, and genderfluid/non-binary persons. I think that the hang up is tragic, not because I'm right or wrong but because people who were assigned the wrong gender or dont fit on the binary system have added so much beauty to my life. You will miss it simply because you chose to deny that they exist. Its a bummer to say the least but it is what it is. I dont come across a lot of feminists on steemit. When I do we always have various disagreements but this one is against the policies of the group I usually invite women to here. :(

As for "intersectional feminism wasn't meant" well, maybe? Or: all feminism is an ongoing exploration of gender equality and sexual freedom. None of us are suffragates, and we don't need to be. That said, its not intersecting being male. They are not male. They are women. :D

I probably can't engage much if we cant get past this huge hurdle. Best of luck.

Make no mistake.. there is no denial of their existence. There is denial however, that one can change their sex. We are not assigned anything, we are observed to have physical characteristics that categorize us as either the impregnating class or the impregnated class. That's it. Everything else is personality... and gender is the pathology of personality.

Trranswomen are male. end of. We cannot change our biological classification.

I agree @radicalmothering, to me personally, biological sex is non-negotiable and when someone cannot accept their biology it is a mental illness and should be treated as such. We cannot be expected to change the literal definition of these words (sex and gender) because a small minority believe they're something they're not.

Gender on the other hand, again to me, is whatever you choose it to be, like you said, it's reflective of your personality. Same for sexual orientation or even the lack thereof.

Welcome to Steemit, followed because we obviously share some views!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36