You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Lady Doth Protest Too Much

in #feminism8 years ago

I like that you are debating this in such a civil manner.

I just want to add that at this point in my life I am literally asexual. I have no sex drive whatsoever and no interest in courting anyone. So, where does that put me if my supposed power is my sexuality? I know, personally, I don't want my value/power to be tied to my sexuality. Women do not have more power in society and that is pretty clear but you already went into details on all of that.

But again, way to civilly debate and take time reading the other perspective and thinking about it fully.

I look forward to more of your content.

Sort:  

Sexuality could be one of your sources of power-- in fact, it's a source of power for everyone who is human, and recognizing that doesn't mean having sex, or even wanting to. Instead, recognizing that is more about understanding that the entire dynamic exists--- something I often forget to do myself. People who are more conscious of this stuff are better able to exploit the power of their sexuality.

(men,women,experimentersinphysicalevolution)==People

Doesn't matter what group you fall into, you can still derive power from people's perception of your sexuality-- or from their lack of perception of it, too.

valid point. I tend to not be aware of that these days as I don't often think about sex anymore. I have a disease that makes having sex excruciating so that lead to me being pretty much asexual. But you are right, I could still exploit my sexuality as can anyone as we see in marketing regularly.

After my car accident, it was like that for me too for a while. I feel for ya, and hope that you're able to enjoy many many things, if not sex :).

Some theorists would probably argue that you are oppressed because of your lack of "sexual power," rather than being oppressed because... you're oppressed. Or at least, that's my guess.

Thank you for noticing. I always try to conduct myself as professionally as possible when it comes to discussions like this. :)

"rather than being oppressed because... you're oppressed"
you are oppressed because you are oppressed,
omg this is some heavy philosophy...

you are insane and cant comprehend basic logic, did anybody ever tell you that?

You go to the library too, you are borderline scientifically illiterate
and barely literate as in your use yesterday of the word rebuttle instead of rebuttal
Have some respect for yourself.

Not sure but i think you may be the so-called pansexual thing.

pansexual is being attracted to everyone regardless of gender. I was pansexual. Now I am asexual, which means I have no desire in having sex.

Well done lemons. Remember you can be anything you want, except straight, normal, a wife and a mother of a gaggle of happy children.

I'm pretty okay with that. :P

a love so spread out that you love everything, is the same as a love so thin you dont love anything, asexuality often follows pansexuality

you will not be respected here if you are barely literate,
its not regardless of gender, its regardless of sex,
you can be a woman whose gender is male.
Learn the basic theory, go to local library and pick up some books girl,
it will pay out

I never suggested that women's only power is their sexuality. And I certainly never said that their value as people is only or even primarily related to their sexuality.

Okay. Thanks for clarifying. I will read more fully before commenting next time. I respect how civil you both are in this debate. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69512.95
ETH 3883.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73