The pressure to be a feminist

in #feminism6 years ago

One of my greatest goals and passions in life is empowering and supporting other women... In sports, at work, and in life.

7BF6EC99-2943-4563-A5DB-8422C6C6352C.jpeg

To be honest, the growing sexism (on both sides) around the world worries me immensely. I have never felt such pressure to be a feminist, and don’t get me wrong, I‘ve always been a feminist, but the kind who embraces the fact that we are extremely different species, and that’s what makes us so amazing and unique. Truth be told, some of my biggest supporters, personally and professionally, have been men, and to those I will forever be grateful. But I’ve also been extremely lucky to be surrounded by strong, amazing women: My family, my sisters, and my friends, who are also my sisters. I’ve had the honor to work, play and learn from some of the most inspiring women I’ve ever met. Nevertheless, I still see women bringing other women down, women objectifying themselves, women not speaking up, women accepting lower wages, women afraid to show pregnancy, the list goes on, and on, and on... On the other hand: I still get comments from men telling me I can’t speak about sports, commanding me to stay in the kitchen (although I can’t even cook, haha), TV shows with only ONE woman (out of 7 speakers), and even shows with NONE!

I constantly get insulted through social media for speaking up, and I’ve just had to learn to IGNORE THEM! But why do we accept this? Why aren’t women supporting other women when they are brought down, when they are offended, when they are not paid equally? And talking about my field specifically... Why are female sports journalist even accepting the fact that there are still sports TV shows with NO WOMEN DEBATING? Women are mostly hired to host, moderate or present, like a flower pot, “look pretty and smile for the camera.” NO! We shouldn’t accept this! Men shouldn’t accept this...

Remember, this could be your daughters’ future. I want a world with more professional women LEANING IN! Happy Women’s Day to every brave woman out there who isn’t afraid to stand up, speak up. AND REMEMBER: Feminism is about LOVE, not about HATE, it’s about INCLUSION, not DIVISION!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55