You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feminist Rant

in #feminism7 years ago

If you feel threatened, i suggest you take up martial arts.

  • It's great for self-defense
  • It's great for self-esteem

I get what you are expressing. I really do. I just think the FIRST step should be to work on your own reality, and not the whole world.

Has worked great for me. I'd be interested to hear how it goes for you.


Also, what did you get called out for?

Sort:  

Training all women to defend themselves from physical harm is a bandaid. We need to teach the aggressors to stop.

I got called out for being "hot", "sexy", "beautiful", "gorgeous", "yummy", etc.

I can't force the other people within my reality to change. I don't understand how you propose that I work on my own reality, short of ignoring the men who dehumanize women within my immediate vicinity.

To go back to that phenomenon where you don't feel threatened by looks, but most women do... Why can't you agree that this information was enlightening to you? Or did you already know that and choose to sweep it under the rug?

To go back to that phenomenon where you don't feel threatened by looks, but most women do... Why can't you agree that this information was enlightening to you? Or did you already know that and choose to sweep it under the rug?

I understood it like this: most women feel threatened by looks, because they fear getting raped. I get that.

Now assume you knew how to defend yourself. And you knew that if the lusty looking man were to make a move on you and you just choke him unconscious. Would you still be scared?

How are we supposed to change the aggressor? How are YOU supposed to change another person? It's impossible. One can only control ones' own actions.

Assume it became known that rapists get the shit kicked out of them by their potential victims. Do you think that would not deter them? I think it would.
Same as, I don't go rob a bank where I know all customers are armed. I go where guns are not allowed.

So. My conclusion is: from what you wrote I take it that you get scared. I get that. You feel helpless. But the only thing YOU can do is arm up. Learn the techniques.

Yeah I would probably still be frightened of the need to get into a physical altercation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59934.86
ETH 2666.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45