Unicorns & Candy Cotton ...

in #feelings7 years ago (edited)

Let’s be honest Steemit! Life’s not always unicorns and candy cotton. Sometimes we are just sad, tired, exhausted, angry. We are frustrated when things are not going the way we want them to be. We expect things to be perfect. We are disappointed.

I had a hard time on social media platforms - I never really posted and shared things. I always thought I could not compete with all the others. I felt I was not pretty enough, I didn’t travel enough, I didn’t go to fancy parties and meet important people. I always thought my life was too boring and just in any possible way not perfect enough to share.
There even was a time I didn’t open my Facebook or Instagram for weeks. It was about the time when all my friends from school graduated and posted pictures from graduation parties and their world traveling after that. I just sat on my couch feeling like I didn’t accomplish anything in my life (holding my little babygirl on my arms as she was sleeping - isn’t that ironic?!)

A4885DCA-7683-4046-8FAE-353558761C26.jpeg
picture by pixabay

My point is - whenever we look at someones social media profiles and accounts, it seems like they’re living the perfect life. But no matter how perfect things seem to be - there’s always the other side of the coin. They may feel just as insecure about themselves as I do. Everybody is sad sometimes, or has problems.

What really bothers me is that most of the time when I go through comments on posts (not here on Steemit but elsewhere) I read hearted and anger. People are being bullied and insulted for their opinion or even for their circumstances of life.

In Germany there is a saying:
Geteiltes Leid ist halbes Leid.
There may be an english saying with the same meaning but I don’t know. It means: if we share our sorrows and talk to others about it and being accepted just the way we are, things are only half as bad. The pain halves.

EF97A1B8-C8DD-4A66-B73F-0F8A59B69392.jpeg
picture by pixabay

So I wrote this in order to encourage you to share something about you that isn’t perfect. Something that makes you weak or sad. Something your afraid of, something you regret. Anything that is heavy on your heart. Just let it out and maybe hopefully feel a little better as you see that you are not alone.

I’ll start off first:

Three months ago my best friend died. She was only 28 years old. I’ve seen her for the last time in 2014. We didn’t really fight but as I gave birth to my little girl in March 2014 things in our friendship changed. We just lost track of one another. I thought about her often. ‘One day’ I always said to myself ‘one day she’ll have children too and then we can talk about why things went the way they were.’ If I knew that she would pass away way to early... I would have called her. Every day of my life I feel guilty and I wish there was a chance to turn back time. It hits hard on me every time I hear her name. Every time I look at a picture of her.

B71394DB-A7F1-4C96-AEC7-69F823686F5F.jpeg
picture by pixabay

~auminda~

Sort:  

Congratulations @auminda! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sorry for your loss. Perhaps a nice story of your friend and pictures of you together in your next write? Keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78