You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why there are so many fake accounts and abusers?

in #feedback2 years ago (edited)

Hi, @event-horizon. First of all, thank you for taking the time to discuss these issues.

I can say I agree with everything you say here and would like to offer my point of view.

The soul of Steemit is two folded: bloggers & audience--or so it used to be--; otherwise, the place will be plagued with garbage content no one feels the need, let alone the pleasure, to engage with. Now the fuel of Steemit is the money. Soul and fuel make Steemit go round--or so it used to be--. Fake accounts? Abusers? They're part of the price you pay to live in a free, decentralized world. They will always exist; and I can't come up with a solution other than working hard to expose them and blacklist them. I don't think they will "eat up" Steemit. If bloggers and audience grew in number and quality, Steemit would be great regardless abusers and fake accounts.

I have seen that a lot of interest has been put in engaging, but one certainly should not feel forced to engage if one doesn't like the content. I have been evaluating this situation deeply. Some truths must be said; one of the basic rights of a reader is they are free to choose what to read. Why being forced to engage when one finds no interest in the content? This will definitely ruin Steemit, as no one who is a serious reader and a producer of content likes to feel they must read posts which add no value to their personal encyclopedia. Personally, I was away for a week because I was sick, and I took my time to read some good stuff for which I am not given a cent. In the end, what moves creators and their readers/audience is not the money but gratification; and it is not my word but the wisdom of thousands of years of "literatures" on this planet. I had forgotten a little about that but it came to me again as I read in my sick bed.

I'm working every day to make Steemit a nice place to me. Does it sound selfish? It is, a little. But it's not a sin. It's good for the platform that its users feel happy to be here and produce/consume content, and upvote what they like, and engage if they feel like doing it. If users who produce content receive remuneration based on the quality of their posts, they will stay.

John and Mary were not engaging because they were busy writing daily posts of whatever content, not necessarily good, not necessarily something the other Johns and Maries enjoy or need to read. Now John and Mary must engage and write even more posts. I don't see how this is going to get better.

Oh, I wish I could say so many other things but this comment is getting too long. So I will only say I appreciate your concern and thank you for this post, which I read with pleasure while having my morning coffee ☕❤️

Sort:  

I also don't think we will ever get rid of abusers and scammers. As you said, this is the baggage of a decentralized system. But we must keep discouraging such acts and at the same time work on bringing more quality authors.

You also said it right, no one is obliged to engage but then no one is obliged to vote as well. Not even steem curators. ;) But here people become hypocrites. Now they want votes and all. So we preach that if you want votes or comments you have to give them first because that's how a community works.

And forced engagement is of no use. The content should be good/interesting enough to attract engagement. We shall know what our readers want to read. Comments will come automatically. 🙂

I doubt you read this bitter post with pleasure but then coffee is bitter too. 😂

No sugar, ma'am 😂 But a good post is a good post.

The quality of readers has also changed to worse, but this is not a Steemit issue. It's universal. My students, for example, are in their twenties and they struggle to finish novels (even the short ones like Alice's Adventures in Wonderland); only a few do it with pleasure and make interesting discussion.

I have seen that no matter how light the text is, they will miss important points and make poor replies. And this is not about upvotes or money; this is, I believe, about a shift in interests and attention. This requires long analysis and explanations not everyone wants to hear.

Excessive use of social media can make an individual lose focus. We have to live with it. 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62617.55
ETH 2438.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67