The black-winged kite (Elanus caeruleus) building a nest

Hi guys,

So this morning I went on another one of my bird photography outings and I came across this black-winged kite busy collecting nesting material!

DSC_7258-Edit.jpg

He kept on coming back to the same bush to break twigs off it.

DSC_7306-Edit.jpg

He was really fighting that bush, I have no idea why he would just pick from that one bush and not look for some other bush that would not be that hard to get twigs from.

DSC_7308-Edit.jpg

But eventually he does manage to break a twig off and he flies back to his nesting site, twig in mouth.

DSC_7321-Edit.jpg

I am not sure where his nest is, but if I find it will wait there to see the chick hatch out.

This all happened in Rietvlei nature reserve in Cape Town South Africa, I took all the photos with my Nikon D500 and Nikon 200-500mm lens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66