Friday February 22nd - My entry to featheredfridaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

American Robin. Hiding from the snow storm
image

robin red breast bird from www.allaboutbirds.org
The quintessential early bird, American Robins are common sights on lawns across North America, where you often see them tugging earthworms out of the ground. Robins are popular birds for their warm orange breast, cheery song, and early appearance at the end of winter.

This poor bird didn’t get the word


image

Twice Every year our sky are full of geese and ducks. They might be a little noisy but we do enjoy the sights.

wolfhart

Sort:  

It's good to see a Robin, isn't it? We have a lot of them here right now. I love your second shot of all the ducks and geese overhead, that's awesome! Thanks for participating in Feathered Friday! voted & resteemed :-)

yes it is nice to see the robins. I hope it went into the evergreens to get out of the weather.
that was a huge flock overhead. the sky from one end to the other was full of birds

I had a pair of Robin's stop in my yard in January for a day. They ate some berries off the Buckthorn bushes and then they must have been on their way because I did not see them again. I really hope they were going south not North! You are on a migration route for ducks and geese, aren't you?

Yes and they rest in the ponds that are in the vicinity.

I was a little surprised to see the robin on the branch.

Where my creek flows into the river the water never freezes, and there are always large flocks of geese and ducks in the open water. They create the most ungodly Ruckus during the middle of the night sometimes. I don't know if they see a predator on the shore or what the problem is but oh my goodness so they make a lot of noise. Because the water in the spring and the creek never freeze the soil along the banks gives the Robins a place to scratch for food, so they often hang out here longer than I think they should!

They create the most ungodly Ruckus during the middle of the night sometimes.

Yea they do. LOL 😂
I would not trade them for the silence .

I think they just can’t shut up 🤐

You are most likely right!

@wolfart i pity for the bird. Adfraid of the snow storm. A better shelter would have be more good than that

they have a tendency to find shelter. we have evergreen trees that they will hide in to get out of the weather

Robbin is a sign of spring, right?
It must be a side effect of global warming 😉 it miscalculate the time of spring this year.. poor robin😢

there is no global warming. its climate change until they change it again. Spring is not until the end of march. It's still winter time. and it has been a cold winter . brrrrrrr 💨
the robin found a nice place to stay until the storm passed.🌬⛄️🌲

haha! howdy sir wolfhart! that guy decided to stay and tough out the winter. lol. good shots sir and perfect for the tag!

He is eyeing the bird feeder.
wife went around this morning and filled all the feeders. we are supposed to get a couple of inches tonight or in the morning of snow .
the birds hide in the evergreens that are all over the property. they provide great protection for the from the weather

howdy again sir wolfhart! oh yes, the evergreens are wonderful protection. Well unless you guys love the snow hopefully this will be the last one of the winter!

I do not like the cold weather. and I hope we get some warmer weather soon, real soon.

We have rows of evergreens that go around the perimeter of the property plus some scattered around the inside

I understand sir wolfhart! I on the other hand love winters because it's fairly mild and I don't like the heat down here! So while everyone is longing for Spring I'm hoping for an extended winter! But if I was up there I'd be hoping for Spring too. The evergreens are wonderful wind breakers.

LOL yea your weather consists of desert 🐫 🌵 and springtime. We here have it all as you know from Dodge City 🌃
I need to grow feather and head south.

haha! Texas is a great place to spend the winter months then head to Canada or Montana in the Summer!

Anywhere along the Gulf for the winter is good for me. Too HOT in the summer, that you are right about

Robin in like Robin Hood? Looks like a good chap

Robin in robin red breasted
But yea good chaps. Singing birds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37