Weekend Of and For The Birds- Part 5- The End

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

Hi everyone! This is Part 5 and the end of my story, "Weekend Of and For The Birds." Sorry it took me so long.

This is the update on the robin fledgling who was named Hercules by my next door neighbor Sal, who took him in on the evening of July 11th. Sal had been feeding Hercules worms and berries and by day 4, he was also being fed baby crickets and grasshoppers. Day 5 Hercules knew how to fly and in the early morning of Day 6, Hercules was released. Sal put him in a pine tree next to my driveway because we had seen adult robins and cardinals there. Hercules was having fun flying back and forth, from tree to the roof of the house and the adult robins and cardinals were flying with him too. Yay!

That evening on July 17th, I was on my back porch and you can just imagine how surprised I was to have a bird land on my shoulder. It was Hercules! He was chirping so loud I thought I would go deaf in that ear. He acted like he was starving. I thought that maybe he didn't know how to forage for food. Not good. I got Sal who then took Hercules to the grass and once again, as he had done many times before, showed Hercules how to find worms. Success! After Hercules found 2 worms on his own, he flew away.

The following morning I was on my back porch and Hercules landed on the porch next to me. I was happy to see him but worried that he was too tame and would not survive in the wild. He kept chirping like he was hungry again and I thought it was best for me to go inside so that Hercules would know that he needed to find food on his own. Look at how cute he is. It is amazing to see how much he has grown from July 11th to July 18th.

These photos were taken from inside my house. Hercules wants me to let him.

Look at that cute face!

"Please, let me come in!"

Thankfully, Hercules never did that again to me or Sal. He is a happy adult robin now and he visits me every single night between 8:00-9:00 PM. He doesn't try to sit on my shoulder or next to me on my porch. He just sits in the grass close to my porch and we exchange a few pleasantries, and then he flies away to be with his own kind.

My weekend with my 2 grandsons was filled with up-close and personal experiences with birds of many species, and all ages. It truly was the "Weekend Of and For The Birds."

Thanks for stopping by!

#featheredfriday by @melinda010100

#dailypetphotography by @dpet and @kona

All photos are my own.

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Than head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Sort:  

I'm very glad to see that Hercules has grown up rapidly and he is a happy adult robin now. I especially love his cute face when he looked at you as to ask you to let him in....

Very nice stories! It's really great experience, especially for your 2 grandsons. ;)

I am very happy for Hercules too. I got real attached to him. I love that face of Hercules too. LOL!

I am glad that I was able to share the story with you and that you enjoyed it. And yes, I was happy that my 2 grandsons were able to experience all of these things. : )

Yeah! I'm very happy when knowing that you are happy..... We are true sisters! ;)))

You have got that right sis! When you are happy, I am happy! We are definitely true sisters forever! : ) : ) : )

Well said! You are right!!! ;)))))

Hurrah for Hercules! What a wonderfully heartwarming story.

Aw, thanks partner! Hugs!

Greetings and felicitations. Marianne is early so I'm starting at the bottom. C U soon!

I love stories with happy endings! I hope Hercules lives long and prospers! Thanks for sharing your For The Birds weekend with #featheredfriday.

Me too on both accounts. Thank you Melinda! : )

A perfect ending. And you have a new feathered friend. What a blessing. This is also a great lesson on how to properly manage these types of situations.

Thanks Omra! I never thought of it as a lesson but I do hope this story helps others.

I had a scare tonight. I saw a dead bird, laying on its back on Sal's back porch. I didn't think to look at the color of its belly at first. I thought it was Hercules, who came back home to die. I started to cry and then realized it was a cat bird. I am so attached to Hercules and was so glad it wasn't him.

I'm glad it wasn't him, too. Perhaps it was another bird helped by Sal?

I asked Sal about that and he said that he hadn't helped any other birds this year. I suppose we will never know why that poor bird died.

Hi @whatisnew,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

You got a 3.01% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @whatisnew! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I think he is posing for you. Happy endings get upvotes.

Yay for happy endings. Thank you @willowwisp! : )

Howdy Butterfly! Wow that diet Sal was feeding him would make anyone recover fast(so they could get out of there!).

well this was very cool to read about. Only took, what..3 weeks for us to find out about Hercules? But the ending is good, that's what's important. lol.

Howdy jonboy! Glad you liked the story.
Oh, you hit me below the belt. I know, it did take a long time to tell it but things in my life are always getting in the way. Thanks for hanging in there with me. : )

lol! I was just teasing, it wasn't a long wait at all, MY posts take forever to tell the story, not yours!

Cute, glad he made it. I raised a goldfinch in a similar way many years ago.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good for you for raising a goldfinch. Isn't it rewarding?

I took it to a wildlife center and they thought it was a sparrow and didn't want to raise it. Then as it grew older it started turning yellow.

Posted using Partiko Android

What good is the wildlife center not wanting to raise it? It is a good thing you did. I bet you were surprised when it turned yellow.

They only have enough space for more exotic types of animals. Though i bet they could use sparrows to feed their peragrine falcon.

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG! The dreaded food chain. : (

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.34
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66