Feathered Friday - Huffin 'n' Puffin- By Steve J HuggettsteemCreated with Sketch.

puffin away - by steve j huggett.jpg

Taken on my trip out to Skomer Island of the coast of Pembrokeshire Wales, the home to the largest Puffin colony in the UK. You can go on the island, but because it's so popular you have to queue from 7am for the boat that would be a 5.00am start frankly no way! So opted for a trip around the island in a jet boat.

My entry into Feathered Friday run by @keithboone

puffin away - by steve j huggett (4).jpg

On our way out to Skomer, the crew take us on to the "Bitches" The Bitches are a tidal race and set of rocks between Ramsey Island and the west Welsh coastline near St Davids. The water runs so fast the boat has to reman on throttle just to still, great fun :)

puffin take off- by steve j huggett.jpg

puffins at skommer island - by steve j huggett.jpg

What I use

Nikon D7200.
Sigma 18-300m
Software Adobe Lightroom.
Taken by Steve J Huggett.

Location

Skomer Island Wales UK

Thank you

I appreciate you taking time to read this post and viewing my photos. I hope you enjoyed them. Please let me know what you think in the comments below.

Please follow me on Steemit @stevejhuggett.


Image © Steve J Huggett. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

These are great! What beautiful birds! We don't have puffins here but I've always liked the look of them.

Thanks @goat-girlz They are very clownish but in a good way lol

I hadn't thought about it like that but you're right! They do look like clowns!

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy today sir stevejhuggett! ha! That bird looks like he's running on the water! Very cool shots. Well done sir!

Thank you, @janton yeah they are very comical to watch and so fast :)

howdy today sir stevejhuggett! yes sir and they're name makes me laugh too!

The collective term for a group of Puffins is a 'Circus' lol

no way! lol. Oh that's perfect! I wonder who makes up these names? lol. Thanks for this piece of information, that's priceless!

It is just pefect lol

Definetely one of my favourite marine bird species!

Mine too, there are a couple of local pro photographers that just get some amazing shots. The guy Drew Buckley is one of them.

https://drewbuckleyphotography.com/puffins-gallery/

This gallery is just amazing! Thanks for sharing!

Your welcome :)

Those are such cool birds! I'd love a chance to see them. Excellent photos, I love the shots where the bird is running in order to get airborne! Thanks very much for entering Feathered Friday. Voted & resteemed

Thank you Keith, yeah getting over to the island to see them has been on my todo list for years and it was just amazing to see them if somewhat of a challenge to get capture them, they are so fast!

What a great addition to #featheredfriday! Wonderful photos and I love seeing puffins! The jet boat sounds like a great way to travel!

Thank you melinda, I really enjoyed my trip out to the island, I will one day get up early and make the trip onto the island and get some closeups. The jet boat was a hoot, if somewhat bouncy as we headed back at full power crashing through the waves, couldn't walk straight when I was back on dry land for a bit lol

That is so cool that you get to see them! You do live in a very fascinating part of the world.

Thanks, Melinda, yeah I'm very lucky Wales is a beautiful place. :)

I certainly do love seeing your photos!

Its nice share :)

wow, wonderful!
Did you need a lot of attempts to get these wonderful photos? I imagine it quite hard to capture these birds while flying...

Yes, it was a challenge. Luckily the water was calm and the sun was out, but I still had to ramp up the ISO and I was set to high-speed shooting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66900.39
ETH 3114.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77