Feathered Friday - OwlssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #featheredfriday5 years ago (edited)

Got these owl photos at an injured bird santuary in St. Louis. Here's a family of barn owls.

Here's a screech owl with an injured wing.

What are you looking at human?

I can't remember the name of this owl, he was a roomate to the screech owl.

Here's an itty bitty saw whet owl. Happy #featheredfriday @keithboone

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Awww! Great owl photos! I hear screech owls occasionally, but I have never seen one here. I remember going to a bird sanctuary near St Louis a few years ago.

We saw the sign for it as we were on the highway leaving town heading west. You made me wonder about the pictures that I must have taken there...

Haha same here it was a chance find for me as well. Plus there was an elk park next to it. Maybe you have a couple elk shots as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't find a single picture from there. It's a mystery. I do have a birdhouse I bought there, but we didn't drive through to see the elk. We were off to Bentonville Arkansas to see the Crystal Bridges art museum.

What a lovely faces the owls have :) These pictures are an overdose of cuteness. They are so cartoon-like and likable.

The lady who feeds them has an acrylic shield the barn owls like to dive-bomb randomly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my god, owls are the best. It's hard not to give them voices and characters!

They were pretty cute none of them made a noise but a crested eagle next to them was squawking happily cause he got a treat.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, probably coz they were kinda asleep, being daytime! Here is a picture of an Aussie owl for you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like a gremlin to me lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice shots!

Over here we have a kind of owl that yells, “woop woop woop woop woop woohoo!”

I’ve never seen one, but I hear them all the time when I go walking in the woods on summer evenings.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can only recognize horned owl and barred owl calls.

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful animals ❤ and so nice that you can find santuary for wounded birds, they are making great work 😶

There were quite a few different kinds there. They had some bald eagles and sandhill cranes and a huge buzzard.

Posted using Partiko Android

Bald eagles, they are wonderful creatures. Do you know maybe what happens with those birds when they get better ? Are they staying or they leave them back in the nature ?

Most of them are probably too wounded to be returned back to the wild. Here's the place https://www.worldbirdsanctuary.org/

Posted using Partiko Android

Very nice! Thanks for sharing them with us.

I was trying to load a shrieking eagle to dtube as well but dtube was being finicky this morning.

Posted using Partiko Android

Was that from the same place?

Yeah i might try and load it again later.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49