Pillow stuff... and a timely #featheredfriday

in #featheredfriday5 years ago
I hope in a very near future, due to very likely visit to some friends in the countryside, be able to finally post cool photos from portuguese birds. Meanwhile, will keep posting photos of birds from abroad!


And for this #featheredfriday, straight from Iceland, ducks it is!


I visited this amazing country in January, and a partially frozen lake in the middle of Reykjavik provided a great birdwatching opportunity! Several species of the Anatidae family (the family of birds that includes ducks, swans and geese) were hanging around.

ujqnd59ok1.jpg

Among a few of the most common seen birds, such as the common goose Anser Anser, and the mallard Anas platyrhynchos, one of my favourite ducks was swimming:

2erbxxk198.jpg

Tufted duck / Zarro negrinha (PT) – Aythya fuligula, male

Tufted ducks are diving ducks, meaning that instead of feeding at the water surface, they dive to feed. There is sexual dimorphism on this species. Males are very, very easy to identify: all black, with white flanks. They have tuft on the back of the head, which is the origin of their name. But what really stands out for me, are their eyes: they have beautiful golden eyes, that contrast greatly with their black heads!

hbr363jgag.jpg

Females, as what is common in most birds, has less colourful plummage, brown with flanks a little paler. The tuft is very tiny, and although it has the same beautiful golden eye, it doesn't have the same contrast as in the males (I'm glad i'm not a duck, and females in my species are a lot cuter than males! :)


ya8cjuqf7m.jpg

Tufted duck / Zarro negrinha (PT) – Aythya fuligula, female on the right side


And on the outskirts of the city, a small pearl for me: I really like seeing species that don't exist in my home country, and this one was a novelty:

esv0pmxz2k.jpg

Common eider / Eider edredão (PT) - Somateria mollissima

A curiosity about this one: you've probably rested your head on this bird's feathers, since the downfeathers of this duck are largely used for the filling of pillows and duvets!

A large group of males and females can be seen here; obvious sexual dimorphism as well, the males being the colourful ones, with the white body and dark flanks.

8s8k44ajij.jpg

Have you seen these before? Happy birding everyone!


Still haven't joined Steemmonsters? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )


@steemitportugal, a supporter of the portuguese community, is now also a witness! If you would like to give your support to this project, please click on the banner below to cast your vote:

STEEMITPORTUGAL-witness-460.gif

Sort:  

Hi pardinus,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow this one I wasn't expecting! Thank you @curie!!

Wow, what a pretty ducks. I've not seen most of them and tufted duck is something that makes me fall in love with her. So lovely and cute she is :) Just to mention, I've always been fascinated by the ducks and with their evolutionary habit to flap their wings to release the energy build-up, whenever they get into a fight.

Thanks for sharing. It was a lovely read.

Thank you for visiting, glad you liked them! :)

First of all, let me say great work for all those amazing pictures in there of the birds. Your write up on the other hand was really a thing worth reading and i really enjoyed every second i spent on your blog. Great work and keep it up

Thank you for the feedback and for the visit!

You are welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Magic Dice has rewarded your post with a 9% upvote. Thanks for playing Magic Dice.

Hello sir💚💚💚💚💚💚💚
Thanks for you sir

Thank you guys!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post had received 10.18% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal

You captured fantastic shots of the ducks. I haven’t seen the tuffed ducks here.

Thank you fellow minnow! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent shots, I really like the Tufted ducks, I haven't seen them before. Thanks for posting in Feathered Friday! Voted and resteemed :-)

The eye contrast in the males is awesome. If I see them again I'll try and get a good head shot. Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

So many beautiful ducks! That photo of the tufted duck is wonderful! !Tip

Thank you @melinda010100! It seems I'll finally be able to do some birdwatching on the next weekend, maybe I'll see them again here!

I was remembering hearing a Nightingale when I was in Portugal. The only time I have ever heard one and I was enchanted! Hope you get to see and photograph some great birds!

You'll know for sure, I'm bound to post them if I see them 😁😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Eh... that duck with yellow eyes looks like a psycho in that pic.... don't ever make 'em angry!! hahaha

Maybe that's why I'm so fond of them; love that look! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36