You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feathered Friday An Eagle at the Zoo

I would suspect that if it is in the zoo it can't take care of itself in the wild. At the National Eagle Center just north of me we learned that many Eagles get lead poisoning from feeding on carrion that has been shot by hunters and farmers with lead shot. The eagles end up brain damaged if they survive and are no longer able to hunt for themselves. Great photos of the bird, though. Even in the zoo they look quite regal!

Sort:  

Yes I suspect that is the case as well, and thanks for the info I didn't know that

Lead shot was banned 10 years for just this reason, but of course people with guns still had a supply of ammo on hand that they continued using. . And then Trumps Interior Secretary reversed the ban.

Some of the Ban reversals including this one frustrate me so much, I could say more but I don't talk politics on here ;)

I don't usually either, except it fit here and I believe we have similar views!

Yes indeed I suspect you are right :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61659.88
ETH 2579.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55