Another Feathered Friday

IMG_4662.JPG

These were actually our birds, not wild ones. I don't know if that counts. This is not a spectacular shot, but they looked so posed there! The goose is a Toulouse, the ducks are Indian Runners. I love Indian Runner ducks. They look like bowling pins with feet.

Hummingbird nest 002.jpg

This one is also not a great shot because it was through a window, but how often do you get to see a hummingbird on a nest? This was at my son's high school, in this little inner atrium space the kids didn't have access to. I had to sit on my son's shoulders to get this picture.

Sort:  

Duck family

Posted using Partiko Android

A hummingbird Thats so rare .. 👍 and the Sucks are great too

I'm fine with seeing domesticated birds, not just wild ones. They did pose for you so nicely I believe they enjoy your camera! The hummingbird in the nest is terrific! Thanks very much for entering Feathered Friday! voted and resteemed

Fun! Thanks for sharing :)

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Haha! howdy goat-girlz! very good shots there and I agree, I've never seen a humming bird on a nest!

Thank you! It was amazing to see. They're so tiny!

Posted using Partiko Android

howdy again goat-girlz! Yes that was so precious to see!

Hello
@goat-girlz
Awesome photo of the goose with the ducks. The Goose Looks like it's watch duty.
Oh my ....🤗
how special to see a hummingbirds nest. In the Summer I have hummingbirds
But I have never seen their nest... but gosh I would love to.
(:

Thanks! The goose was raised in the living room with those ducks. As far as she was concerned they were her family.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello
@goat-girlz
I could see the protective look in your photo. I have wild ducks and Geese here at my cabin Spring to Fall. They live in the marsh and pond. They bring their babies up into my garden. The Candin Geese are most protective.....!!!!!!
(:

How fun! Around here the wild ducks and geese won't come anywhere near us with their babies.

Posted using Partiko Android

🙂
They don't come near me... but when I'm inside my cabin they waunder up. If go outside they head back down to the marsh. They love to foraged in the garden and on the lawn...and in mud puddles...!!!!
(:

Oh yes! The puddles! Our ducks and geese have destroyed the lawn. It rains all the time here and they play in the puddles until they turn into craters.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love seeing your birds. The hummingbird in the nest is a special photo.

Thank you! I think it's pretty rare to see.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have never seen a hummingbird sitting on a nest! That is very cool. And I didn't know you had ducks and geese! Besides the goats, what other animals do you have?

Aside from the dogs and cats and goats, we have three geese, 18 ducks and somewhere around 50 chickens. It wasn't supposed to be like this. We started out with six chickens and they went forth and multiplied. In the old days we had grass!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! I bet they are rough on a lawn!. When I was a kid, I grew up in a small town and the neighbors that lived across the street from us had a pair of ducks. I can still remember my mother chasing them with a broom when they would come into our yard because they always ate the tops off all of her flowers. Particularly in the springtime just as the tulips were coming up!

Hahahaha! Between the poultry and the goats, I don't have a flower garden anymore. I used to have a gorgeous one. I need a bigger fence!

Posted using Partiko Android

I suspect you don't have a lot of free time for gardening!

I used to! Then the goat business took over. I love gardening, though. Maybe I'll get a chance to do something when things warm up a little. It snowed here today. Grrrr.

Posted using Partiko Android

We have an ice storm predicted stating later tonight. My kids in Chicago wisely canceled the visit they were planning for the weekend it sounds like it it could be treacherous travel conditions in the morning.

Holy cow! Are you ever going to get a break?

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to! Then the goat business took over. I love gardening, though. Maybe I'll get a chance to do something when things warm up a little. It snowed here today. Grrrr.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89