You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feathered Friday - 12 Crow Photos

Since I've been missing my crow friends lately

What happened to your crow friends? I have crow friends as well. I haven't been called a "crazy bird man" yet, and actually my daughter has taken up feeding and caring for the birds in her neighborhood, since I started several years ago. I got attached to the crows from seeing how sociable they are within each murder, and how they have differences with others that happen to come into their territory.

Mine seem to go off somewhere a couple times during the year for a short stay somewhere else, and then return. I hope this is why you are missing your crows! :)

Sort:  

Ahh, so it won't be too long now before you get called the Crazy Bird Man... or you and your daughter could be the Crazy Bird Duo...LOL!

And yes, that's pretty much the case - I've had two to three crows that have visited my yard off and on again for a few years (thanks to the amount of bird seed and treats I left out on a daily basis). For a number of reasons, I haven't been leaving out as many treats, or spending as much time out in our yard, so their visits are shorter and more sporadic. But they are still around.

You might be interested in this old post from 2016, back when I got spoiled by them - I have some videos of my "conversation" with one of the crows that I named Angel.

MicroblogMondays - Something to crow about

Thanks for shouting out, and happy Crowing! 😉 😊

Finally got around to looking at this article, Microblog Mondays, and I am envious! I've been feeding my crows everyday for about the past 3 years, bu they still freak out if they see me looking at them, lol. I feed them on the other side of my house, because when I fed them on the patio side of my house, I discovered the squirrels were lunging at them while they tried to eat.

So I moved their feeding spot to the other side of the house, which solved that problem. Anyway, yesterday I was mowing my lawn right after I'd fed them, and I happened to get a look at them, some were eating while others were on the power line right above the feeding area, just waiting their turn! They're so considerate of each other! :)

My crows are fish crows, and after 3 years of daily good food, they are big and strong and healthy. If I ever get clicks, I will be so happy!

Your crows sound amazing, and I hope they reward all your generosity by posing for you soon!

I'm still in awe of the fact that for that (somewhat short) period of time, the crows would not only stay around when I was outside, but would interact with me like that. I don't know if the crows that visit me now are the same, or the next generation, or what's changed, but they're not quite as sociable as they used to be. Of course, I haven't been hanging around outside nearly as much, so that might be part of it.

So glad you enjoyed my old post, and if you ever get pictures of yours, please shout out and let me know. I'd love to see them! 😊

I'm hoping too. :) On another front, one of the male redwing blackbirds, which have always been terrified of me, (and abandon the feeder even if they see me looking at them from inside the house, lol), has become a friend. He comes every morning and lands on my fence just a few feet from me and chirps. I say hi, and tell him to get some food, and he goes and gets some of the bread I've put out for the Jays and other assorted birds. Now that's quite a turnaround!

That's awesome, @free-reign! My turn to be envious - I've tried a number of times to get a good shot of a Red Winged Blackbird, but the ones in my yard are wicked skittish! It's such an amazing feeling when you gain a feathered friend like that, isn't there? Please tell him I said "hi!" 😊

Yeah, he really surprised me that first day he came and sat on the fence, and apparently, from how you describe yours - they are very skittish. I never expected I'd ever get more than a glimpse of them, but that first day I had a feeling he trusted me. I do feel good about that, but feeding all the birds each morning is always a pleasurable way to start the day! And the redwing has come by and greets me at the fence every single day since the first one! I'll tell him you say Hi tomorrow morning. :)

Totally love this. Maybe some day he'll agree to be in a post of yours...

thinks about it and checks @free-reign's profile

Oh, he did! That's awesome, JW!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77