Feathered Friday - A baby Redstart spent the night on our balcony

(Lumix) 31-05-2019 19-23-16.JPG
Baby Redstart

Last Friday in the evening, all of a sudden, a little baby Redstart landed on our balcony. It wasn't there just moments before and unfortunately I did not see it fly up to our balcony, or down to it from a nest higher up. It must have just left it's nest that afternoon, to learn how to fly.

With the baby bird on our balcony, I knew why I could hear Redstart's flying all over the garden and calling relentlessly, seeming quite upset. They must have been looking for their baby and weren't able to find it for hours. I had been wondering what was going on with them all afternoon.

A little later I tried to take a picture from the bedroom window, but that wasn't all that easy through twice the amount of fencing from the balcony. But you can see the baby's red tail:

(Lumix) 31-05-2019 20-50-10.JPG
Baby Redstart

That little one was just sitting still, not moving for a long time, except for blinking it's eyes. It stayed quiet as well. It was already getting dark when it started calling out, as the parents were near. Finally they were reunited again and I was able to watch the baby as it was being fed on our balcony. I was watching it all from our bedroom window, which is to the right of the balcony and set a bit farther back. Unfortunately it was too dark by that point to get a proper video or photo.

Since I was not sure how well that little one was able to fly at that point, I did not want to risk it getting scared and flying down onto the ground. Because they can flutter down at first, but not really up. So I left the door closed and neither my husband Ralph, myself or the cats were allowed out. The balcony was to be off limits for as long as the little one would decide to stay. It would have been dangerous if it would have sat on the ground all night, unable to fly higher again. But the baby bird was safe on our balcony, as it's too high for even a cat to jump onto it.

The balcony door was closed and the blinds all the way down... Of course there were lots of meows at the balcony door for a while...

Here is a video I took with my camera, shortly after I saw the Redstart baby sitting there. That little bit of baby bird fluff that's still on it's head is totally adorable:

Before the video with my camera, I just took a video with my phone, not knowing if I would have time to get the camera. The special thing about that video is that you can see one of the neighbour cats hiding in the high grass, stalking. The kitty was actually stalking pigeons that were down on the ground, but she looked up once she saw me and the baby bird.

The next morning, I got up early and looked out of the bedroom window first thing, and the baby was still there. But once I got into the kitchen and carefully looked out under the lowered blinds of the balcony door, it was gone. A few minutes later I saw it on the ground, getting fed by one of the parents. I saw it was able to fly about half a meter higher into the bushes.

Later that afternoon, one of the parents was calling for their baby again, flying all over the garden, looking everywhere. I was able to film one parent when it was near the balcony and once on the balcony. Thankfully, they found their little one not long after.

Since that day, I'm sure the parents and the baby are together, as there is no more upset calling and flying around by the parents. I hope I will see the young bird again soon, and hopefully get a photo or video of it :-)

The quality of the photos and videos isn't that good, but it's still a lovely thing that I wanted to share with you all.
The cats and myself wish everyone a great Friday!

Postbanner.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @catlady.natascha! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I forgot to mention you in my post @melinda010100 so I thought I will do it here in the comments. I also posted my link into your posts comment section for #featheredfriday ;-) Hope you have a nice Saturday!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I found you! This is such a great post and that is such a sweet baby! I am glad he found your balcony and was able to have a successful start in life. Thanks for posting to #featheredfriday

Thank you so much again! I'm happy you enjoyed it :-)
I was truly relieved that the baby was fine and able to fly a bit later. Now it can fly together with it's parents while they teach it everything needed for adult life ;-)

I'm happy to post to featheredfriday! Hope I'll be lucky again, to get some lovely bird photos soon.

There are so many new babies of every kind right now! It is so fun to watch them all!

Yes there are really a lot of them right now! It’s beautiful!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am glad the little one is again with its parents.

Yes, I felt so relieved when I saw the baby together with the parents, and able to fly! I was really worried about that little one.

Very cute baby Redstart! I hope he is doing well!

Yes the baby is fine :-) I'm really glad that he can fly together with the parents now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79