You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feathered Friday With A Smaller Camera

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

That is one heck of a camera you have, the big one I mean. I am still learning and getting better I think, coming up on one year with my Nikon, still a long way to go on the learning curve. I just today, finally figured out the jpeg/raw thing and down loaded the first 3 raw images to play with. none on this post though - - https://steemit.com/featheredfriday/@bashadow/featheredfriday-small-visitor-looking-for-a-handout - - -
But I continue to learn.

Sort:  

Haha, yes it's big but the reality is it's way better than the little Olympus in terms of image quality. Which Nikon camera do you have? Raw files are far better than jpegs when you want to make significant changes to the photo in the shadows and highlights. Thanks for posting, I'm heading over to your page now.

The Nikon D7500, with a few beginner level lenses(cheap), to play with.

That's an awesome camera! We used to have a Nikon 7100 but Cathy started to find it too heavy.

I am really liking it, lots of lens choice and well I have hardly learned half the menu items, like the raw setting. But getting there.

Make sure you understand - the RAW files all need processing. They will always need a bump in clarity, sharpness, contrast, saturation etc. This is all baked-in when you shoot jpegs, but the raw files are completely unprocessed and they are rather flat looking until you work on them a bit.

Yeah, fortunately I have a free cripple ware program that works with raw files, but the camera does both a raw and a jpeg to download which I thought was pretty cool, one already to play with normally, and one where I can easily fix the exposure level.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45