Feathered Friday - "Time to Feed"

in #featheredfriday5 years ago

8-16-2019

Tanking up

Summer is rapidly ending here in Alaska. I have heard some geese already starting to head south. The weather is still plenty warm, down right hot on some days. It is mid-August though. We still have a lot of smoke lingering around the area. On Tuesday we went to see if we could see any birds at the Kenai Wetlands View area. For a change this summer I did get to get some shots other than the typical seagull. I do still like seagulls though they are pretty birds and they do like to pose for pictures sometimes.

Tuesday I got a few pictures of ducks. There is a small little tidal creek when the tide is in, and I was lucky enough to see two sets of ducks.. First picture here is a few stitched images. In total there was 16 images, but not a full fill picture that I wanted, but I was able to do a nice crop to show the creek and a couple of ducks from it.

Here is a little closer zoomed in view of the ducks in the creek:

You can see all the lush green turning to a hazy yellow. It has been nice seeing the different color changes throughout the year. From a blanket of white snow, to the prior years dead seeming grasses, then the greening of those grasses to lushness, and now the gentle fade away from green to the hazy sometime vibrant yellows and gold, soon to be the brown stage just before the snows return.

Now more about the ducks. They were hungry, thus the Tanking Up headline.

I am not sure what they are feeding on, but feeding and eating they were doing a lot of. I was lucky that I caught this one picture with a head out of the water.


Okay I think that pretty much does it. The below links to my feed, and post from those that I follow.

Oh one more thing, don't forget to visit Egrets for Feathered Friday, and remember to leave a link to your post on our gracious host(@melinda010100) post. That way she can find you, and others that like #FeatheredFriday can find you too. As she say:

If you tag me or post your link here, you have a better chance of getting curated by me. Posts do not have to made on Friday!

Sort:  

Fabulous photos! I love how the grasses are beginning to turn that lovely shade of yellow, although I am certainly not ready to see summer winding down! I love that shot with both ducks with their heads under water! Thanks for supporting #featheredfriday!

Greta shots winter is winding down here as well and the days are getting shorter,

Hi @bashadow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.325 which ranks you at #2697 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 137 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Amazing captures of the ducks feeding. The evenings are cooling down here and summer seems to go by too quickly.

Seasonal changes and unfortunately everything moves on but they will be back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54