I feel a little sorry for people who don't aren't in Fear a little bit every day.

in #fear7 years ago (edited)

I feel a little sorry for people who aren't in Fear a little bit every day.

It takes a great and vivid imagination to be fearful of anything.

Now as ya know... Danger and Fear aren't the same thing.

When we're in danger, it means what we "feared" might happen... well it's happening. It ain't our imagination no'mo.

Fear's just an emotion caused by a really vivid imagination.

So what's cool, if you really think about it, is that the more fear we feel...

The better our imagination is.

So, if you find yourself like a deer stuck in headlights, absolutely petrified about making a choice, making a mistake, what could go wrong and picturing all the dangers that may lurk around the corner...

It means you've got one helluva imagination!

It means you can visualize outcomes better than most people...

You can picture the future clearly... the future you DON'T want.

That level of visualization is a skill that's not easily come by. It takes years of practice to make perfect.

By the way... I've got a helluva imagination too.

But what I do (if it helps you) is to let that fugly fearful version play out fully, in all it's glory like a Stephen King movie in my head...

Because it helps me understand the stakes involved and what could go wrong (that's some useful intel right there).

Then I use my imagination to see the future I WANT to happen, only now I know where the clowns are hiding and I know where the boobytraps are placed, so they can't surprise me.

The story always ends different the second time around (after all, I wrote it).

I wouldn't want to live in a world without scary movies, but I wouldn't want to be stuck in a theater that plays them on loops either.

After all, Stephen King created "It"

He also created "Shawshank Redemption"

Sort:  

Congratulations @bradcostanzo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26