Today is Free Comic Book Day (FCBD)!

in #fcbd7 years ago

Every year on the first Saturday of May, comic book shops all across the globe unite together in an effort to bring new readers to the medium. This is also a chance for local comic book shops to generate some attention for themselves in an effort to ensure these stores can stay afloat.

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 10.17.53 AM.png

Free Comic Book Day, is the brainchild of Joe Field of Flying Colors Comics in Concord, California. FCBD officially started in 2002 as Field collaborated with the comic industry's largest distributor: Diamond Comic Distributors.

Over the years, FCBD has grown to include 2300 comic book shops world wide. This year, they will give away over 5.7 MILLION comic books.

Instead of trying to compete with him, I will let the great Wil Wheaton explain Free Comic Book Day for all of us.


This year, publishers will be giving away 50 different comic books. Different shops have different rules on how many titles you are able to take. But no matter what, I am sure everyone can find something he/she will enjoy.

Here are the tiltes available this today. (Clickable version can be found on FCBD website)


Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 9.57.07 AM.png


Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 9.58.08 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 9.59.05 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-06 at 10.00.27 AM.png

As you can see from those titles, there will be options for boys and girls of all ages (even 45 year old boys).

In addition to these comic books, there will be a FCBD exclusive Juggernaut Heroclix figure available.



I have been taking my children to Free Comic Book Day since they were three years old. Even if you think they (or you) don't like comic books, it is such a fun atmosphere. The shops are always filled with energy (and geeks). Who knows, maybe a trip to the local comic book shop will spark a new love of reading in your children. Besides... it's FREE!!!!!!!

In addition, it is a wonderful way to support local businesses. In a world where anyone can order just about anything and have it delivered by a drone without ever having to actually stand up, these retailers can use all the help they can get.

Click here to find a participating shop near you.

For more info on the day, please check out the FCBD website.

Juggernaut image

All other images from the FCBD website

Sort:  

I have always envied the US for having this day. I mean, what can be better than a free comic book? :D

What country are you in?

Norway. I am sure there are a few stores here that have this offer as well, but the problem is that they are most likely 3-4 hours away, and will cost like $40 for public transportation there, so it is not really worth it :P However, for some reason I imagine that most US cities have a few comic book stores in them, so it might be easier to get to one. However, I don't really know if that is just something I imagine, or if it's true.

You are correct. We are pretty lucky. For now, most towns have one. I just hope online options don't put them all out of business. Its cool to see people actually hanging out at these.

Yeah a $40 trip sure would not be worth it>

Oh, that is cool! I can totally see how online stores like Amazon can ruin all those small, cool places :(

Oh my a legend of Zelda twilight princess id bag myself one of those! Thanks for the share I might just try locate one thanks alot @hanshotfirst good share.

Zelda is making a huge comeback thanks to the new Nintendo system.

Nice event for comic book lovers.

I agree. Lots of fun!

too bad we don't have that in France.

thanks thanks!!!!! that's so cool.

Awesome!!!!!! Thank you so much for finding this info!

It is no problem, I hope a lot of Steemit users made it out to a shop today and supported their local stores and picked up something too

Do you know of one in Norway?

Tried Googling and did not find a result like I did for the France link, hopefully next year, or actually maybe October if they do a Halloween FCBD, they will have more global awareness

I agree. It really is a great program. According to the site ANY comic book shop in the world can participate. I wonder if this is something that will eventually catch on in France. I hope so!

I can imagine that it is one of the better days of the year. Too bad I don't live in the USA :-(

The distributors will do it for any comic book shop in the world. Hopefully it will continue to grow!

Really? I did not know about that. I will check it out. Thanks a lot!

@cryplectibles found some in France. I'm not sure what other countries are doing it.

If you look just above your GOLD TITLES line you will see a minor SP error, and as a teacher we cannot have that on this blog hahaha

If you find time, please stop by my new

#SteemitCampFire

every-weekend series, that will run Friday-Sunday nites man.

I had literally just tagged you in a post there, not sure if you were online or not, then came to find you and here you are with a post up an hour ago.

I would like to fix you something to eat there, and have a community building post/fireside chat, and listen to you!!

Our campfires there on my page/series will be better with you and hopefully you will bring some of the inner geek strong to teach us.

LOL

Nice catch! I'll fix asap. What is a tiltes?

LOL!!!!!!!!!!

You are so funny and good natured, that put such a smile on fcae

lol

this is awesome....

followed you.

cool

good post @cvanlaer check it out babe

I had heard of this here and there over the years, granted my Inner Nerd is not as strong as yours, so I have a lot to learn man.

What a day for the fans.

You must be such a fun dad LOL

I do have a ton of fun with my kids!

Its a fun day. I just got back. A lot of people see the crowd and wander in for the first time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64381.21
ETH 3475.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50