What I Already Knew About the FBS Semi-Finals

in #fbs7 years ago

I tried to warn many overly eager college football fans. I knew that Georgia and Oklahoma would be the best match up and the most exciting semi-finals game. I also knew that Georgia would pull off the win. How did I know...well that's another conversation (see my post about How Auburn Created the FBS National Championship).

Where I received the most slack was with the Clemson and Alabama match up. Here it was Clemson was #1, and Alabama was sold called "washed up". Then you had the conversation about last year's National Championship results. Well, not only did I know that Clemson was not the team of old, but this year brought a serious curve ball not like every before.

Alabama was the underdog, undeserving in my opening, and people begin to show great disrespect towards them. And there lied a big problem! Alabama is still Alabama, and they're not the team that you want to overlook or take lightly in any situation, especially with Nick Saban still being there. If anything you want them to stay asleep, and not arouse their anger. They are almost impossible to beat on their A-game by 99% of teams out there.

With that in mind, I knew Clemson was in great trouble. The pressure was off Alabama for once to let their hair down and take their frustration out on the newly crowned king- Clemson. Being in the forefront takes a special type of person/team that Clemson clearly is not. Alabama has made it look so easy for so long, but they just reminded us all of why they have so many championships. They are talented, dominant, and relentless.

I love Georgia and all, but I feel sorry for them. I predicted this match-up weeks ago. I knew that an adrenaline filled Georgia team would weigh down Oklahoma. I just don't believe Georgia has the pedigree to match Alabama on this stage. But, like the Falcons last year, it's a great accomplishment that they have made it thus far after waiting so long. Either way, it will be an exciting football game to say the least.

Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52