Why I don't call my father on father's day.

in #fathersday6 years ago (edited)

I got a good one for you. One day when I was like 4 or 5 my Dad and I were returning some bottles to the grocery store. He told me I could use the money we got to get whatever I wanted in the store. I chose this big sucker and he starts yelling at me that I can't use the money for that! I am not sure but I think I reminded him that he told me I could use the money for whatever I wanted. Needless to say I was extremely confused. How was I to know which items were off limits when he tells me I can buy ANYTHING???? In any event he just made me feel like such an idiot for me thinking that just because he said I could use the money for anything that I could actually use the money for anything I wanted. He criticized me the rest of the time in the store, he criticized me on the way home for wanting to buy the sucker (again, I was like 4 or 5), then when we got home he recounted the episode to my mother, again acting like I was such an idiot and he could not understand how he could give a 4 year old child some money, tell him he can use the money for anything he wants in the store and the FOUR YEAR OLD KID decides to use the money to buy candy! That was just completely impossible for him to understand! This is just one of many events that my parents did to completely destroy my confidence. Things like this made me question every decision I ever made growing up and this is just one of many reasons I don't call my father on father's day. Then there is also the fact that the last time I saw him he told like three times to never call him again (and I haven't), but even before that day I hadn't called him on father's day for nearly 10 years.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Hello @jeffyanez. Don't worry about the past. Parents are also a normal human being and human make mistakes. Sometimes people takes a day to realize that they are wrong and sometimes they will only realize it on their last breath. Give your dad a chance, I think he just forgot to say that you can buy anything EXCEPT things that will cause you harm. Cheers..

wait until you see part 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82