My Biker Dad - Happy Fathers Day!

in #fathersday7 years ago (edited)

Hello again Steemit Community!

It’s Father’s Day! A day dedicated to celebrating and honoring fathers in our life. A day when everybody takes to Facebook to profess their love for their dads, I'm not usually that kind of person, but thought it's a good day to share with the Steemit Community on how I started my riding journey.

Father’s Day means something different to each of us, whether it’s a day to do something special for your dad, to give him a big hug, or take him out for dinner. Unfortunately, I stay almost 440kms away from him so I am gonna write a short blog on this special day for my daddy and how his help and support made me into the Bikergirl I am today.

My dad always rode a bike and ever since I was a baby or maybe in school I would love sitting with him and mom and they would take me on short rides. I generally loved the breeze hitting me on my face and within minutes I would fall off to sleep in between dad and mom on the bike.


Source

Then when I was old enough to understand how a bike works, he would let me control the accelerator/throttle and that gave me a sense of how powerful these machines can be, he went on to buying a scooter for me that I used to ride in the city and it just made everything so much easier for me.


Source

A few years later he started taking me pillion on these 200km rides to Goa to meet his sister. I used to love those rides, the roads were rugged, we didn't have proper gears, no traffic, routes still unexplored and we didn't have phones to capture pictures.
We went on 4 of these trips, when we met with an accident and dad got a little bruised, nothing really happened to me. That's when he told me that you are tall and old enough to ride a gear bike, I came back home and learnt to ride one and then there was no stopping. I would ride out of the city almost everyday to the close by waterfalls, mountain ranges and beaches but I would do all this on my friends bikes.

After finishing college I started working at an IT company in Bangalore where I almost forgot about my biking due to the work pressure and hardly any leaves... My dad and mom changed all that for me when they gifted a Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350 motorbike to me.

I cant thank my parents enough for always believing in me and giving me the freedom to travel and follow my passion. Not many people in India are lucky enough to get the support of their parents.

*To End this short blog a few thank you notes Dad.

  • Thanks for acting like a kid when I was a kid, acting like a friend when I needed a friend, and acting like a parent when I needed one. You are the best.
  • You have given me the best things in life: Your time, your care, and your love. I am truly grateful to have you in my life
  • Although time and distance may separate us, your guidance, advice, and love has stuck with me through it all. I would not be who I am today, without you.
  • The older I get the more I realize how important it is to have a dad like you. You have provided stability in my life and the love and acceptance I needed.
  • Thank you for everything you have done for our family. Mom and I love you with all our hearts.*

Please follow Bikergirl to stay updated with my adventures.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Fantastic post Candida! It's great to know more about your dad and see all these pictures! Whoop Whoop! :D

You not only rock as a biker but also as a daughter 💖

Awww thanks @rimke

Waiting for blog again u impressed by writing and photos. Father our first hero Happy Father's day.👏

Ok, you have a very cool family. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks Crowe. I sure do.

very few are lucky to have such parents.. i am sure your dad must be very proud of what u have achieved in life so far and even in future..
Nicely written :)

Yes, I'm really lucky to have such supportive parents.
Im not much of a writer but trying to express my feelings in these blogs.

i like your posts

Yayy thanks :)

Hey @bikergirl, good post. I'm a new Steemer and only just joined the platform. It would be great if you could have a quick look at my blog and hit the follow button if my content resonates with you. Much appreciated.

Like your post, happy fathers day! Not only did it make me miss my dad, it also made me miss my bike in India!

Nice post :) Keep it up.. Will be looking forward to more of your blogs. TC

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50