Happy Father's Day - My Dad - Saved!

in #fathers7 years ago

Before I begin with the story of my Dad, I wanted to preface this story by stating that my mother passed away 8 years ago on Mother's Day. She suffered from a two year fight with lung cancer. While in the hospital, right before she passed, she looked at me and said "I am going to a better place". See it wasn't a question, I knew she believed and that she was saved. So, while a loss of a parent is a tough, I know she is in Heaven with my Lord and Savior.

So on to the story of my Dad. Almost 5 years ago, my father suffered a major stroke. On that Sunday, I came over to visit my father as I always do. This time, my Dad did not come to the door. So, after multiple attempts at knocking and ringing of the door bell, I heard his cry for help, "help me Jim". My Dad, being a man of security, had his house and his front door locked up tightly. In an attempt to get into the house, I grabbed a hammer from the garage and smashed the glass on the front door.

Upon entering, I found my Dad on the hardwood floor of his bedroom. The floor in the room was covered in blood. During the night he had a terrible stroke. Upon his efforts to stand up, he repeatedly fell into various objects in the room. The bed had been pushed to the side of the room and his night stand was in the other corner of the room.

Before I finish with my story, I want to say that my Dad is a GREAT man! He has helped many people, in many ways in his life. I don't think he knows what the word "no" means when it comes to helping others. With that being said, he had many questions in regards to the Bible and his religion.

Continuing, I am not an emotional person as anyone in the family will attest to this statement. However, as the paramedics were pulling me away from my Dad, I began to cry. Not a little, but like I have never cried before in my life. I soon found myself in the hallway floor. I am not sure how I got there. Based on what I saw, I quickly figured my Dad would not survive this stroke.

As the paramedics were taking my father away, I found myself at the coffee table in the living room praying to the Lord that "my Dad was not ready" and I prayed asking that he give me more time to spend with Dad before he takes him from this place.

My Dad was in the ICU for days and later spent almost 3 weeks in a rehabilitation facility. This followed by in home therapy and continued rehabilitation. During this time, I prayed for my Dad's recovery.

My Dad has never fully recovered from this stroke. He is about 70%, and that I would call a miracle. During the last several years we have had many discussions about the Bible and I have done the best I can do in regards to answering his questions. During his recovery, we would pray together before bed at night. This is something we have never done together. We recently have begun watching religious based movies on Sundays together.

So, the Lord answered my prayers! My Dad's recovery was nothing short of a miracle as I was briefed, on several occasions in the hospital, that my Dad may not survive. My Dad has come a long way in understanding God's word. Today is a great day as I get to spend another Father's Day with my Dad.

Dear Lord, thank you for listening to my prayers! I pray that I have answered all of his questions and that he is now ready when you decide to take him. In the meantime, it is days like today, that make me realize how lucky I am to have such a great Dad! Today is for my Dad and to give thanks to the Lord that I am able to share this moment with my father.

Miracles do happen.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jimtabor15! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jimtabor15! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59226.54
ETH 2603.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42