The Real Reason a Man Cries When His First Child is Born

in #father6 years ago

Most men will say that they cried because of an overwhelming feeling of joy. However, from my own experience, I have a much different take on this. While it is true that we men suddenly become very happy when the doctor in the hospital holds up the baby for you to see and tells you it's a healthy boy or girl, I think happiness is just a small reason for the river of tears that flow upon childbirth.

The very instant my first child (a girl) was born, I began weeping uncontrollably. My bottom lip started quivering and my breathing became irregular just like I used to cry when I was child. Sure, I was happy, of course, but there were a host of other feelings and emotions that came into play at that magical moment. I believe that, for the most part, I wept out of fear. Yes, fear! But why? Well you see, it's like this. For nine months or so, I knew there was a baby inside of my wife. But I had never seen it physically. I had never touched it or held it in my arms. I tried to prepare myself by I imagining my baby being born with me watching and told myself that I would not cry. I was confident that I would 'take it like a man' so to speak. But as soon my daughter entered this world, I realized that I was responsible for this living thing that I created for the rest of my entire life! Suddenly, it was my responsibility to provide for, protect, nurture, teach, guide, etc. this tiny little girl from that very moment forward. What a daunting task! I had all kinds of doubts going through my mind. Could I do it? Was I capable? Will I be a good father? What if I can't? What if this happens or that happens? Thankfully, after about 5 minutes or so, I managed to put those fears and doubt aside and truly enjoy the moment.

A year and a half later, my second child (another girl) was born. No problem this time, though - just a few tears of genuine, undeniable joy. No fear whatsoever. For now I knew that I was perfectly confident and capable of fulfilling all of my fatherly duties and obligations. I was a veteran dad now! dad.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @webbsensei! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28