You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nothing Special About Intermittent Fasting They Say

in #fasting6 years ago

Fung is right, and I can prove it, if you agree on a few basic concepts regarding human metabolism.

First, H. sapiens evolved in a state of nature, not in a city with a McDonalds on every corner. This meant that their diet was opportunistic, and depended on opportunity. If there wasn't a substantial source of food directly at hand, varying degrees of time and effort were required to eat. The important takeaway from that is varying degrees of time - intermittent fasting.

Intermittent fasting is our natural mode, what our physical bodies are evolved to function best in. If you believe the official story about human history, not until about 10kya did we gain the ability to raise and store foods (agriculture). For the prior millions of years, the species did not have this ability. Specific worldviews will argue time, but few will argue that the natural state of humanity in which we were created did not include intermittent fasting.

Secondly, I have been significantly overweight, and around ten years ago, solved the problem without difficulty and maintain a healthy weight without a second thought today, because of intermittent fasting. I didn't even do it on purpose.

I was around ten stone, and quit eating for a month because I was existentially depressed. I lost a couple stone, dropping to a normal weight for my height. I recovered from the depression, and thereafter ate but several times a week, due to my changed circumstances.

When I did not eat, but was hungry, it was challenging to do, but not very. I was usually busy working and had no opportunity to eat. Sometimes I would be so tired at the end of the day that I just dropped into bed without doing the work necessary to acquire, prepare, eat food, and clean up the mess after.

When I did eat a meal, I ate a full meal of whatever I hankered after. The great pleasure I took in those delicious meals that completely sated me was very enjoyable, and this is the key to why it is easy to fast intermittently, rather than reduce the calories or content of individual meals.

When you are hungry, and have a plate in front of you, it is very contrary to our desires to not eat to satiation. We are left unsatisfied, miserable even, every time we eat. When we are hungry, but have no opportunity to eat, it is easy to just ignore it, and get on with what we are doing at the time, until we can get around to eating.

We are designed this way by nature, because that's the circumstances that surrounded getting and eating food in the wild.

The great pleasure derived from eating your fill after a day or two without creates a happy person. The great misery imposed by leaving yourself unsatisfied at every meal day in, day out, creates a miserable person.

Intermittent fasting works with our nature, with the way our bodies are designed, and makes us happy when we do eat, whereas all other diets I am aware of do the opposite.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44