Steal My 3 Secrets to Make Fasting Easier

in #fasting2 years ago (edited)

1_6iJkzQmTplYatvM8bfijDg (1).jpeg

I know, you, me and almost everybody I know likes food. Who the hell doesn’t?

This “dopamine hit” is wired in our brain and we have inherited this from our primitive ancestors. Just imagine how hard it was for them:

Food was hard to find, hard to catch we started developing tools only 2.6 million years ago, trying to catch something in the jungle, or desert without tools and not knowing how to store food, no refrigerators, no agriculture system.

As it should be obvious our ancestors were also fasting back then but some overdid it too much (sadly against their will) that will eventually die.

Food was hard to find, hard to catch back then, we are no longer in that situation! So why the hell don’t we fast? The food is going to be there the very next day. So?

Fasting is extremely hard, certainly for most people.

This process was quite painful for me but I can say that now I’m fasting although with hunger. I want to share with you some of my experience and three easy-to-follow techniques that help me to make this process much easier.

If you are not hungry don’t eat!

This should be quite obvious and the easiest one to follow, yet people are used to having their breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day + snacks :D.

I used to do that as well and then I realize that this was a combo of “bad habits” and “dogma” .

We all have been raised like that since we were little kids. Even if you are not hungry, people won’t miss their three meals a day. Just imagine this scenario:

You just had a big dinner yesterday and then woke up in the morning (you are NOT hungry) but you know what? I’m used to eating like this, this is how things are, and next thing you know you had a big breakfast. Even though you were not hungry at that moment. What is wrong with me? Why is this happening?

Why eat if you are not hungry? Taste? Enjoyment? Of course. Obesity? Diseases? What is wrong with eating that delicious ice cream until you die? There is no good reason to eat if you are not hungry at all (unless mom is inviting me home to eat at night and I have not seen her in a while or on Christmas day or New Year’s Eve ) leaving cases like these aside.

I can tell you start with this and you will make a lot of progress.

Shrink it until you make it

Most people get too excited whenever they get their new toy or try a new thing sometimes we act just like little kids.

The problem with this is that we get very tempted to overdo it and sometimes we succeed in the short term only to days later go back to the same old routine and then make claims that well we try it and it did not work.

We can accomplish big things in our life by gradually pushing in that direction.

So this is how I did it and I’m for the most part quite consistent (very few exceptions the ones mention above mainly)

First I started shrinking my dinner, my dinner used to be the same thing as my lunch I will have a big lunch and almost all the time I will have exactly the same big meal for my dinner.

So rather than having a big meal (quite similar to my lunch) as I used to have, I will shrink it to something more close to a breakfast for example :

Some bread + avocado with a papaya juice or something to drink.

and that will be my dinner for the most part but I wanted to keep making more progress into fasting so the next thing I did is shrinking the time,

So I went from having dinner at 8 to decreasing it to 7 and then decreasing it to 6 and then I will eat at around 4 or 5 pm which was a lot of progress.

This moves us to our next trip.

Eat 2 meals a day

In my case, it is my favorite breakfast and lunch but I’ve seen many people out there doing lunch and dinner so that may work for you but pick up two times a day you feel that works and what you find make more sense for you,

For example this the reason why I took out “dinner” and prefer my “breakfast” (sorry to say this but I don’t miss my dinner ):

I want to enjoy my breakfast and a solid lunch, when I think about my “dinner” I could eat it the next day on my lunch, missing my breakfast is a big deal for me in terms of taste and the fact that I won’t eat it again in a while makes me nostalgic just thinking about it.

The other reason is that I have gastritis, my stomach struggles and the food takes time to digest so If I eat too late I will have issues sleeping.

So again you have to make this compatible with your current situation what works best for me may not be best for you.

-You may have to go out early and do a lot of work in the morning which goes for most people because we are usually very busy in the morning.
-You get more creativity or work done in the morning.
-You don’t want to get too much sugar in the morning (which is something I think a lot when I add some fruits to my breakfast), sugar slows me down.
-You are a contrarian and you are sick and tired of nutritionists giving a lot of importance to breakfast.
You hate breakfast.
-Etc.
As you can see, there are certainly better reasons why most people skip breakfast than skip dinner.

Just find those two meals a day you enjoy or are more convenient and go with it.

Wishing you success on your journey

You have my blessing now.

You are on a journey if this is the first time you are fasting and I’m sorry to say this but you will feel hungry that is unavoidable you can drink water and that usually makes you feel less hungry thus making the process much easier.

Make sure to always consult with your doctor for the proper supplementation or if this diet is compatible with your disease if you have one.

This is it, I hope you enjoy this piece and wish you the best on your personal journey tell me how it went for you did you struggle? did you fail? did you succeed?

We will see us next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61