A fast for nonviolence - March 10-18

in #fasting5 years ago

March 10, 2019.

It was on this day in 1968 that Cesar Chavez ended a 25-day fast for nonviolence.

Last year, I wrote out a lengthy article comparing Chavez's 1968 fast with Gandhi's 1918 fast for striking mill workers. I also decided to fast for seven and a half days, to link the two historic fasts.

I enjoyed the fast. It was amazing how good I felt. So I'm doing it again. #fastfornonviolence

In eight days, it'll be the anniversary of when Gandhi ended his first public fast, after securing a 35% raise for striking mill workers. I'll break my fast on March 18th too.

Want to show support for just one day? You're invited to join the monthly fast for peace on March 15.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thegandhiguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67677.71
ETH 3825.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65