You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fasting: I Challenge YOU to Join Me On My Next Fast [And Short Intro to Why Even Bother Fasting + Ketosis]

in #fasting8 years ago

This is something I currently wouldn't do, because I'm quite certain I would get a major headache which lasts for a couple of days. It's just not possible with work and everything!
I am, however, moving to a more vegetable based diet and trying to cut back on sugars even more than I already have. It's a bit problematic to do anything too much out of the ordinary though, as I have my boyfriend to think about aswell.
I do find it fascinating how people are able to do this. I always wonder whether you won't miss out on important vitamins and minerals during these fasting times.

Sort:  

Hi @playfulfoodie,
So let me address some of your concerns.

@Headache: That's pretty simple to fix, drink water with added salt (himalayan or any other salt with actual minerals). Also, don't eat sugars/carbs before you begin. Let's say at least 24 hours. But if you tend to eat lots of carbs, give yourself a longer window of adoption. You can also add eating pure fat like MCT oil or coconut oil during your longer fasts. But the salt will do the trick with headache and cramping.

@sugars and veggies: Nice, way to go :).
@bf: Why can't you do anything more extreme? I'm sure your boyfriend will support you in anything you want to do and try and think it's good for you.

@Vitamins: Not if done correctly. For longer fasts it's important to add some vitamins (especially C) and fat to make it a smooth ride and not lose any muscles for example. But Intermittent fasting will do you no harm. So maybe you can start wth that (not eating for 14 hours).

Thanks for the detailed reply! I had no clue water and salt would help with such a headache, it's a good thing to know. I would probably have to cut back on carbs a bit, before trying something like this. Not eating for 14 hours sounds do-able without many drawbacks though.
I might try this in a couple of months when I have a bit more room to experiment with things like this. I'm having enough trouble as it is to try and get to the end of my contract at work, so until then, I'll play it safe :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55