You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Various Kinds Foods For People Fasting

in #fasting6 years ago

Those "break the fast" foods look yummy! I think almost every religion includes some fasting days to purify the soul. The anticipation of eating such delicious treats relieves some of the discomfort of fasting.

I once fasted for a week just drinking orange juice and water. I found that this was a very spiritual experience. For the first day or two I experienced some hunger pangs, but by the third day I hardly noticed the lack of food. My brain and thought processes were much more clear. I experienced only beneficial results.

My Western culture emphasizes food, and here in the USA we are surrounded by so many sugary foods that it is difficult to resist the lure of some pastry, Coca Cola, or donuts. There's too much social stigma associated with fasting and too many events are associated with binge eating.

I wish that we in the United States are more welcoming of the simpler eating lifestyle. There are many people who do various types of vegetarian diets (vegan, ovo-lacto, fish only, juice, etc.) but for far too many the alternative is the norm. The result is a large number of unnecessary health issues from obesity, diabetes, and so on.

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39