My experience with fasting (notes)

in #fasting6 years ago

IMG_20180914_223117.jpg

Below are my notes on a 10 day water fast attempt (I never made it to 10 days, but still achieved what I wanted so it's all good. :-) )

I stopped eating Friday 14 Sept some time around 5pm

I aim to do at least 5 days, meaning no eating until at least Wednesday 5pm. I might go longer, judging by how I feel on Wednesday. The first 3 days are expected to be the toughest.

My reasons for doing this are:

I've been constantly bloated, constipated & gassy for the past 4 months. I don't feel healthy. I'm tired, my skin looks like shit, my joints are sore & aching & in general I just don't feel good. Let's see what this fast can do. My biggest concern is no coffee either :-(
Daily activities will carry on as usual.

Note to self: When you want to eat try remember, nothing you can eat/drink over the next 10 days is worth giving up the feeling of health, vitality, energy, normal digestion & a flat tummy.

Friday 14 Sept 2018, 9:45pm
Current state: tired & very gassy. Belly feels swollen as it has been for the past couple months. Some acne on chin, also on period currently. Mild hunger. Some guilt over the junk I've been eating the past 2 days. Excited to feel healthy again.

Saturday 15 Sept 2018, 7:20m
Day 1 of fast complete. I don't feel too bad other than the occasional hunger pangs. Craved food a couple times but thankfully resisted. Belly still swollen, not so gassy though. I do feel a bit tired & depressed but i think it's mainly cause I don't wanna be here & really just wanna go home now. I miss my coffee A LOT. Let's see how day 2 goes.

Sunday 16 Sept
Day 2 complete
I felt horrible most of the morning, headaches & throwing up. Must be caffeine withdrawal. It improved towards the end of the day. Hunger pains not as bad as yesterday, but I really want some food. Tummy is still swollen, but less than yesterday. Hopefully I start to feel better by day 3/4.

Monday 17 Sept - Day 3
Alright I got half way with day 3. The caffeine withdrawal was just killing me. My body ached so much it felt like a train ran over me. So I had a cup of coffee and literally 5 minutes in the pain is gone....crazy.
Anyway, did some reading and it turns out I can do a fast with coffee. So trying it again but allowing coffee without milk or sugar.

Tuesday 18 Sept
Day 1 of second attempt - last meal 17/09/18 - some time around 9pm...
Day 1 went great. I felt fantastic this morning, went for a run and was very productive. I think it's the results from the first 2.5 days' fasting. Some hunger but nothing too crazy. No headaches, nausea or body pains.

Wednesday 19 Sept
Day 2 went well. Didn't crave, wasn't tired, no withdrawal or anything although I am really hungry right now and want food really bad. It's 8:50 pm. I think because I worked a kennel shift today which is physically very demanding, so my body wants some fuel. But I will rest tomorrow and hopefully I can push through. Didn't have time to meditate either so my mindset is off as well . Fucking work isn't good for you...

Thursday 20 Sept - Day 3
Ok 3 days was my limit. I had to work another kennel shift and by the end of the day my body just needed the fuel. I am sure I could have made 5 days was it not for the kennel work. I think ideally you want to be as sedentary as possible when fasting. I want to do another 2 days. Right now I'm going to fuel up a bit. I can feel my muscles are tired from the work and I feel like I need some protein. I have a couple eggs that I will finish and then maybe from tonight till Sunday night do another stretch since I ate junk again last night. Not a lot...but that's the trouble with living in the US...there is nothing to eat, BUT junk. Can't wait to get back to Mexico. The pic above is the before pic. I will post some after pics and fasting notes in a separate post.

Side note: Just went over my notes from when I started and I can honestly say the fast has solved all those problems. My tummy is flat again, digestion is perfect, skin looks good and I feel great. I've definitely lost some weight, although that could just be water, I'm not sure, I don't have a scale to check. But the important thing to remember is that the weight loss is a bonus and shouldn't be the main reason for fasting.
Fasting for me is first and foremost about healing and resting your body and digestion. Second it's about becoming more in tune with your body and it's needs and also exercising control over it. You learn that you control your body, your body does not control you.

Sort:  

Congrats on the fasting and results! I was considering doing a water fast to reset my body and then slowly introduce food back into my diet to see what I am sensitive to. If being gassy and bloated is an issue have you considered that you may be lactose intolerant? Or else have gastrointestinal sensitivity to certain types of food?

I do intermittent fasting and eat one meal a day which is working very well to get many of the benefits you mentioned but I get to enjoy eating a nutritious meal and can work out hard daily. I also love the convenience of only having to cook once in the day.

Yes, living in the US makes it harder to eat well since we're constantly tempted with trash, but I guarantee you can find a farmer's market nearby or else an asian market, hell I use ALDI for cheap veggies, too. I gave up sugar which was one of the best decisions I ever made; after a commitment like that is made you realize just how much sugar there is in everything.

Good luck on your journey! So are you from Mexico?

I'm from South Africa, but visited Mexico for 2 months before coming here. I'm going back on Sunday. I've never had issues with digestion before so I think it's stress that's been causing it.

Well I hope whatever's causing the stress goes and eats a dick.

hahaha...yeah it will. Meditation helps A LOT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66