My first quarterly fast, done!

in #fasting6 years ago

IMG_1505.PNG

My aim is to do a 3 day fast, 4 times per year, so once per quarter/once every 3 months. I didn't quite make it to 3 full days in my first attempt, but I'm happy with how far I made it for this one; 62 hours and 42 minutes. I'll endeavour to do better next time. During my fasting days, I still drink black coffee with MCT oil added, lots of water obviously, I have an essential amino acid (EAA) drink once per day, and a cup of beef bone broth once per day too. The first things I ate when I broke my fast were a green apple, followed by a couple of handfuls of salted macadamias, and within about 10 minutes, I had what felt like 10 times the mental clarity and physical energy, I felt awesome.

Sort:  

That's impressive! What are your thoughts on the speed of the mental change post eating? ...it seems too fast for the nutrients to have hit your system.

Without having the relevant biological knowledge myself, all I can think is that every part of my digestive system was so primed for use that as soon as I started chewing on something, I guess I felt stimulated in the same way that doing some exercise kind of invigorates and wakes you up a bit. I think the other aspect would just be purely emotional/psychological, in that I was just recieving something that I had really wanted to have for the last 24 hours or so. Perhaps a similar effect happens whenever a biological need is postponed for an unusually long time, like the elation of when you finally get to a bathroom after an hour has passed since you first identified that you need to go, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39