Total Fasting Journal: 42 Hours

in #fasting6 years ago

You read that title correctly. As in, I have ingested nothing, neither food nor water, for more than 42 hours. Now, I am experienced with total fasting, for health reasons, creative inspiration, and spiritual cleansing. So I am not new to this, and I am also not suggesting that anyone else try it without proper guidance and understanding. (If you are interested in getting in touch with me, comment under one of these journal entries and I'll be glad to connect with you.)

I find that keeping a journal of my progress throughout the course of a total fast is very helpful. For this fast, I am planning to go for 120 hours without taking food, water, or anything else. And, I have done 5+ day total fasts before, so I know that I can do this. But, I still find that it is a powerful motivational tool for me to write about my experience along the way, and about what I am learning.

An area of my life around which I've been seeking enlightenment and direction is my professional output. As I am blessed to do my creative process for a living, this means that singing, playing the piano, teaching voice lessons, recording music, writing poetry, prose and screenplays and creating the interdisciplinary collaborations which present themselves are all tasks that I utilize for my living, and which give me and others endless and endlessly beautiful moments.

In particular, I have been feeling that my client base, which now primarily includes those who take voice lessons with me in person and those who take lessons from me online via Google hangouts, is meant to be broadened. I would like to be available to people to transform their voices and their lives - or rather, to provide key aspects of what is necessary for that transformational process - without having to be limited to doing it only live and in person. So, digital instructional products and subscriptions seem the way to go.

Early this morning, I chatted with a friend of mine who gave me some brief advice about what to do to get that happening for myself and my clients. I couldn't help but notice that the advice she gave me seemed obviously right and good, and spoke to me in a very direct way which I felt able to act upon gracefully. I had no experience of being "stuck" or complacent, and the next right actions all lined up for me, mentally.

I am also feeling that my body and soul are in the process of purifying, of burning away what no longer serves me, mentally, emotionally, spiritually and physically. This is always a wonderful benefit of fasting, but it is easy to forget how marvelous an experience it is on a felt level. This may mean that it has been too long since I've done an extended fast.

I took a reading of my breath ketone levels using my Ketonix (which measures breath acetone), and that reads 10.6 part per million. Pretty good level for less than 2 days of total fasting. I think I'll check that again tomorrow morning, when I'll be at about 50 hours.

More to come. . .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28