Quantifying the Pastoral Diet. 2

in #fasting6 years ago

Why not just Paleo?

That's a good term, and it's a great way to source your food. Basically it means not using foods which were developed in the equatorial regions when agriculture spread and cities were formed. This cuts out most grains, all processed foods, and New World foods like beans and corn.

But that's just the source of foods, your diet could be vegan, carnivore, high carb, low carb, just about anything. The same thing in reverse applies to the term Keto.

That basically means keeping your carbs very low. It used to be called VLC or Very Low Carb. I like to specify that it's the state of your body when it is creating ketones, and not so much the diet that causes it, because such a wide range of diets can cause ketosis.

So why not "Paleo/Keto"? That's what I had been using. But there's a copyrighted diet called "The Paleolithic/Ketosis Diet". Makes for confusion.

The last objection was the term "Ancestral", I really liked that one. I hated to give it up. But it's true that an Italian's ancestral diet was vastly different from my ancestral diet. I don't believe that evolution stopped at the end of the Paleolithic era, and I realize that people living where grain was first developed have a better chance of digesting it properly. Conversely, my people were all those who could handle milk products and several thousands of years without fruit. The populations changed. Evolution.

I see a young family who managed to trap a few sheep in a pen and grew a few herbs and leafy veggies in the spring. Being intelligent if not educated, they increasingly took advantage of those methods to build a pastoral life. Others of my ancestors were less settled, but the general method of using the herding behavior of ungulates and the technology of fencing gave them the same basic diets.

But I'm not going to be a migrating herdsman, so Pastoral it is. But what does that really mean in terms of making meals?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74