Fasting Journal : Should I quit coffee?

in #fasting5 years ago

I love coffee, and I understand it has beneficial effects, especially for insulin sensitivity.

But I believe I am suffering from chronic stress. Besides the horrific events of my childhood and young adulthood, my recent injuries and the two attacks on me have left me with a mild(?) form of PTSD. Unwelcome thoughts that drive my heartbeat and blood pressure up for minutes at a time, several times a day.

Which means over-activity of my adrenals and high cortisol levels.

This is NOT helped with the 32 ounces of strong coffee I might drink in a day.

One might sway, well, Bill, just don't drink so much damn coffee. But of course I am addicted to it and every time I cut down I find myself back at that same approximate level. Occasionally I quit for a year or so at a time, and usually I feel a lot better for it, but one cup at a friend's house and I am back on it again, like any good addict.

And then I end up with disturbed sleep patterns, which makes the stress worse, and also causes exhaustion and mental fatigue, which makes the stress worse... and I end up like I am now, watching my heartbeat and blood pressure jack up and crash down.

Before I go any further, I did have a lot of improvement when I went back on strict keto. Maybe not as much sleep, but better sleep when I get it.

So I'm thinking about it. Starting today I cut back, so if I decide to do it I won't have to deal with such strong withdrawal headaches.

Sort:  

Can you have just one cup a day if you have more than one? And before a time that you know it will start impacting on sleep? You’ve probably been there done that, just trying to pretend I’m useful 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

I appreciate the effort! LOL!

But no, the first one just makes me crave the second and third and fourth. I either have to quit or not quit. I was supposed to stick to two cups today but ended up having three. Still less than normal, and I have the headache to prove it, but not what I planned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84