Fasting Journal : Recovery day.

in #fasting6 years ago

Clearly my regular sized meals are too much for me at this point. I wasted half of my breakfast and half of my salad and I've put 3/4 of my steak in the fridge. And that was after eating probably 10% more than I really wanted.

For the record, I broke my fast at about 436 hours or a little over 18 days. I had one cup of bone broth with nutritional yeast and followed that in an hour with a little piece of fish and a forkful of homemade sauerkraut for flavor. I went to sleep at about 4:am and woke up just in time to ride with my neighbor to the grocery. I came home and had 4 scrambled eggs but couldn't finish them, an hour later I had some of that great uncured bacon. That was 4:pm, and I fell asleep in a chair until 9:pm. I waited an hour then made a small steak and about 2/3 of the salad I normally make. I ate 3 bites of the steak and half of the salad. I haven't put it in Cronometer yet, but I can guess it's about 1500 calories for the day.

My plan at this point is to have a week or two of paleo/keto but without any fasting, not even IF. When I feel recovered, I will graduate myself back into IF and then back on Extended Intermittent Fasting as my regular diet until my weight goal is achieved.

I probably should have listened to my body a day earlier. By the time I was sure I needed to break the fast I was acutely distressed. I know it doesn't sound like it when I use terms like "acutely distressed", instead of more emotive words, but that's the accurate term. I felt dangerously stressed. But I rebounded immediately and all my numbers are great again. I feel strong and thanks to the long nap, well rested.

Now if I can just get to sleep at a decent hour tonight. Which would have been two hours ago.

Sort:  

I meant to tell you (but forgot, sorry) how I came off my last 2 fasts - not so much which foods, but amounts. Day 1 - 450 calories, Day 2 - 650 calories, Day 3 - 850 calories, etc till I got up to about 1500 calories. Then stayed there to continue the fat loss. Doing it that way, I never put any weight back on.

It's certainly time for me to change my habits. I weigh approximately 70% of my previous weight, so the calculator page says that my BMR has gone down from 3100 to 2400. That's 700 calories I have to cut from somewhere if I want to maintain my weight. Normally my alternate day fasting will do that unless I purposely try to keep my calories up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82