Fasting Journal : Re-evaluating OMAD tactics.

in #fasting5 years ago

After watching a Dr. Boz video on Circadian Rhythm (below), I begin to wonder if I have been making a tactical mistake by pushing my OMAD later into the afternoon or evening.

My thinking on this was (first) that since I am often tempted by midnight snacks, having my meal later would allow me to feel satisfied until bedtime and reduce temptation. That may be wrongheaded. My temptation has rarely occurred while I am actually hungry, but rather in spite of satiation. If I was already moderately fasted when I went to bed, I might not find myself wandering around the darkened kitchen thinking about a piece of cheese or something.

I actually used to do a regular post about Midnight Snack, on 'other' social media. People would write in about what they were making late at night and it was a whole thing. I love midnight snacks...

Second, the early afternoon, 2-3:PM or so, is when my so-called-social-life happens. I go down to the lobby and chat with the ladies, with the excuse that I am going to sit on the front patio and smoke my pipe and get some vitamin D from the sun. Sometimes I actually do that. But since I am not fully functioning until 10-11:AM, and so-called-social-life is 2-3 :PM, that leaves 5-6:00 for OMAD.

Except if I was moderately fasted, I might get to sleep when I went to bed and so I might be more fully functional in the morning and I could have my OMAD at Noonish.

The question is would I still be tempted in the evening if I did that. One way to find out.

Sort:  

I will probably understand that later when the coffee kicks in XD

I find going to bed earlier helps with the midnight munchies (not that I eat when I'm hungry at midnight anyway because I'm too busy kicking my arse for being an idiot and staying up so late again) but that requires going to bed earlier.

I'm also not intermittent fasting because that would probably kill me.

How would IF kill you? Or is that hyperbole?

As it turns out, eating earlier did not immediately relieve me of the desire for a midnight snack. I didn't expect it to be instant, so I might keep at it, but I can tell you that right now, 9:09PM EST, I could use a snack.
Maybe tomorrow will be better. I mean, it's not a huge deal, but it would be nice to be in control of my appetite and eating habits.

It probably wouldn't literally kill me. If I go too long without eating I go really fuzzy/hazy and progress to a stage where I'll probably eventually lose consciousness (the handful of times I've lost track I've managed to fight enough to stay conscious in time to get food). Seeing as I've managed to avoid that so far I don't actually know what would happen afterwards and aim to continue not finding out ;D

Hope tomorrow is better :D

Ah, hypoglycemia? Totally preventable. Stop eating carbs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15