British Fish & Chips Takeaway

in #fastfood7 years ago

Afternoon Everyone,

When you’ve had a heavy night out on the town, drinking so much alcohol, there is nothing worse than coming home with nothing in the house to eat. Thank God for good old fashioned fish and chips! I had this dinner a while back and I was scouting through my phone when I came across the photos I had taken. I took them to prove to my friends that I did have a takeaway after I said I needed to eat something dirty to top off my night. Well here it is! Looks gross but tasted bloody lovely!

Fish and Chips

Here’s the main event. A good portion of chips with a helping of salt and onion vinegar. The chips are a bit soggy from the fish sat on top, but it’s the best way to have them. Plus at the bottom of the bag you always find the little pieces of chips that are so crunchy and delicious. You can’t beat chip shop chips! The fish is a battered cod. The batter it self has a lovely crunch and it works so well with the chips. There is nothing worse than having soggy batter! I usually have tartare sauce with my cod and chips, this was my husbands choice. He decided to have a good dollop of Heinz ketchup with his dinner.

Sausage and Chips

Similarly to the cod and chips, I decided to go for sausage and chips. Again, the chips have to be smothered in salt and onion vinegar. My sausage is a battered sausage. The sausage is a lovely pork one with herbs in it. The sausage is so moist on the inside and the batter around it makes it taste really delicious after a night out. I had two sausages because I wanted a large one and they didn’t have any large battered sausages. So I settled for two smaller ones. I had my sausage and chips with Heinz ketchup as well. You have to have tomato ketchup with sausage and chips. No other condiments will do. I know there is a lot of grease here, but sometimes grease is all you need to perk you up. It did the trick for me!

Mushy Peas

You can’t have fish and chips without a side of mushy peas! They do look gross but they taste so nice. It’s exactly what what it says it is. They are peas that have been mushed. It looks like baby food but the peas have a really satisfying texture, especially when you are hungry and your stomach wants to eat itself!

Curry Sauce

This is an individual thing. I think you love it or you hate it. My husband loves curry sauce to dip his chips in. Me, I’d rather have tomato ketchup. I don’t see the point of having curry sauce with a British dish. You either want fish and chips or a curry! Not both! I did try it. It’s quite sweet for a curry, It wasn’t hot but it did have a spicy kick to it. I don’t like hot food. I prefer to be able to taste the different flavours of my food, not to have my head blown off with heat!

So Steemers, I hope you like my description of the Fish and Chips. As I said, it may not look the most appealing food in the world, but it does taste great. If you haven’t had this British dinner before, then I would say try it! You might like it!

Sort:  

photos are the proof that fish and chips are very tasty and my mouth filled with water. the post is according to the chill weather thanks for sharing @platinum-blue

@hamzayousaf Aaaah, thanks! Yeah it was really good (and needed) at the time :-D

Ohhh I wanna take that meal. I hope, that will to delicious.
@platinum-blue I hope so you will invite me

@mdlitan It was very nice :-)

My mouth is already full of water!!! Great pics! ...and now? i am hungry :/

Best Fish and Chips in London
Golden Hind in Brixton
In 2014, the Golden Hind celebrated 100 years of providing solid fish suppers to the residents of Marylebone – almost as long as the dish has been in existence. It’s therefore no surprise that the kitchen team have their craft well honed. Our haddock was exceptional, with a light, wonderfully grease-free batter. Chips were chunky and perfectly seasoned mushy peas were a treat, providing more than just a splash of colour on the plate.

This makes me homesick. I miss a good fish supper. Hold the curry sauce, just ketchup and some IrnBru. Thank you!

It seems delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44