INTENTIONAL LIVING: ME TIME

in #fashion6 years ago

Being an introvert, one of my coveted moments is being alone. I love being around people, but sometimes their energy sucks out the energy in me. Having me time gives me the opportunity to recharge and simply relax.

Whether you are an introvert or extrovert, having me time is imperative to your health. It should also be worked into your daily life. As human beings, we are busy all the time. With jobs, responsibilities, children, spouses, activities, meal planning, etc. We are wired to reach a level of perfection. Obviously, nobody is perfect, but we all try to be, right? In the midst of caring for everyone and pleasing everyone…you have to take care of yourself. I am guilty of this, as

One of my favorite quotes is that you cannot pour from an empty glass. In other words, you have to learn to take care of yourself before you can care for others.

I unfortunately have this NEED to be perfect. I am so hard on myself that it ultimately ends in a panic attack. The first time I experienced a panic attack was in nursing school and I was so scared. I felt like I couldn’t breathe and I had this overwhelming sense of fear. It happened in the middle of the night and I remember sitting up in bed thinking, what is happening? I had to tell myself that I am not having any trouble breathing and that everything is ok. I had to coach myself through the attack. Later, I realized it was a panic attack and not an allergic reaction. I turned to the free yoga classes on campus and took walks around campus to just unwind. I would sit by Lake Marian on campus and just listen to the fountain. Having these moments to myself made me realize how monumental it was to my mental health.

I reached what felt like rock bottom, my self esteem was low, and I just couldn’t pull myself up. Being hard on myself literally pummeled my soul into crumbles. My confidence is shot and it is not until my panic attack settles in that I realize how horrible I am at taking care of my body.

Even as an adult, I still experience some form of panic/anxiety attacks because of my need to be perfect. I unfortunately cannot walk the beautiful lawns of Saint Mary’s, but I have Target, my pup Domer, and my blog! These are my outlets from my crazy life. It’s amazing how allowing myself to rewind and recharge can do to my mental health. I feel empowered and ready to take on the day. Most importantly, I have a positive outlook on my life and see the good in the everyday.


(Dresses from Sweet M’s Boutique in Carmel! You can find cute clothing options perfect for transitional wear into spring! I personally love wearing dresses with my knee high boots!)

Why is this important?
Me time leads to increased happiness. It helps you balance your life, you’ll be more focused at work, and better well being. Everyone wants to be happy and I’ve been on the hunt on how to achieve happiness everyday. Self care/Me Time is key. If I had one goal to obtain by the time I die, it would be “to be happy.”

mindbodygreen wrote an article about how “me time” is so important and includes a beautiful info graphic on the statistics! Check it out here.

So how can you incorporate me time when you are swamped at home? The only way this can work is to commit. Whether you wake up early or stay up later, or dedicate 10 minutes of your lunch break at work. You have to set a time and commit to it. Even if it’s going to a fitness class once a week, taking a bubble bath with wine and a book you’ve being dying to read, or taking a drive to anywhere. Here are a few more ideas to incorporate Me Time into your life.

Me time is your time to fully recharge.
Wake up earlier and plan your day before everyone else wakes up.
Start a journal.
Meditate. (I suggest the app Headspace!)
Go window shopping! (Personal fav)
Try cooking or baking.
Watch a movie.
Watch a new tv show.
Talk a walk around your neighborhood.
Take a yoga class.
Learn a new language! (You’ll be surprised how education can bring so much to your mental health.)
I’d love to hear your thoughts on how you incorporate YOU in your daily life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51