You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There's a revolution happening, didn't you know? - Fashion Revolution Week

in #fashion6 years ago

This is something I have been working really hard at learning more about! We watched the documentary "The True Cost" and it was very eye opening. The hardest thing for me now is finding brands with clothing that fits these standards that I can get here in the States and that I actually like the product. I have some close girlfriends who are embracing minimalism in their own wardrobes, so that definitely helps me stay motivated.

Sort:  

Thanks for this comment @plantstoplanks and for raising a real issue. YES. That's what I would love to see fash rev to do more of, shining a light on all the brands which are conducting business in a better way.
One thing I will say, wherever you shop, try to shop less. Keep the items you have for a long time, treat them well, modify them into something else or pass them on. Shopping 'fast' is a habit we need to break and that's an incredibly important part of the process - so minimalism is crucial.

You are totally right with shopping less! I hadn't bought anything new this year until this past weekend, and even then it was only a few items I really needed. It is crazy though how our culture, especially for women's fashion, is so tied up in getting new things every season. I am starting to care less and less about wearing the same things all of the time. When I do shop anymore I try to only buy something if I feel really fantastic in it. If I feel really good in it, why wouldn't I want to wear it all the time? That is one thing where I think getting older helps--I care less each passing year what anyone else thinks about my choices as long as I know I am making conscious ones to be a better steward of this planet. Thanks for bringing up this topic and helping make us more aware!

So incredibly true. I am actually planning to write more on the pressures of re-wearing clothes and how to combat them. Sounds trivial, but actually by getting past that social pressure we can make a huge change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60