Does this make me look fat? Yes. Yes it does.

in #fashion6 years ago

Does this make me look fat? Be honest.

I am amazed at how often we lie to ourselves and to others to obtain a false sense of gratification. Why do we work so hard to transform our reality that often times we forget how big the world around us really is and how insignificant we really are? It must be the rush we receive when our thoughts are validated.

This morning I spilled coffee on my shirt and every time I met with anyone thereafter, I felt like that is where all attention was drawn to. My eyes are up here. (Note to self: Keep a backup shirt at work for emergencies.) At 9:00 am my boss emails me that a client is coming in at 10:00 am to go over their project files. FML. Later I find out the meeting is tomorrow and not today as I previously thought. Embarrassment averted. You can bet I'll be ready.

()

In The 4 Hour Work Week, Tim Ferris writes how we should rate our problems to see how threatening they are to our self. He mentions that most problems are blown up by us and don't actually matter so much. It's a valid point to note that when you're put in a position that you feel uncomfortable in, it helps you step out of your body and see that it's not that big of a deal.

The thing is that no one really cares about our petty issues, but by manifesting them, we are committing self harm. A couple of years ago, I went on a night in the town and was involved in a fight which earned me a black eye. (You should've seen the other guy). I worked at a pizzeria at the time and 2 days after the brawl was behind the counter. Luckily, my supervisor allowed me to stay in the back and make pizzas all day, but every so often a customer would come in and I would have to attend them. I still remember the faces of each person that would see my raccoon face every time I would 180.

I'm glad I don't take life too seriously and I try to not let problems drag me down. I try and find a positive result from a negative experience. For instance, today although I walked around looking like my shirt was thirsty, I got better at being uncomfortable. As for the black eye, let's just say I know what it feels like to be hit really hard and keep fighting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43