How to make a simple skirt

in #fashion7 years ago

Hello steemians,

Today I will be teaching you guys how to make a skirt but subsequently I will teach other stuffs. Making a skirt is one of the easiest thing to do already to me. So on Christmas day I needed to fix my Lil sister up with something simple. I actually made her complete outfit but because I was in a rush I couldn't take pictures of the steps I took in making the top.

We start by taking the measurements. You take the length of the skirt, the round hip, the hip length which is from where ever the person places her skirt to where the hip is bulging the the waist.

IMG_20171225_144100.jpg

After taking the measurement, you then fold the cloth into four, then I left one inch excess as the zip allowance. Usually when folding you use the highest measurement which is usually the hips in most cases exceptions occur if the person's waist is the biggest part. After getting the hip measurement you divide into four as I said earlier cos we folded into four then add 3 inches excess allowance to toy with.

After folding u start by taking the length of the skirt, then you Mark the hip length, usually the closed end, the opened end is for the zip allowance. After the hip length you then mark the waist, also divided by four, it is usually smaller than the hip. Then u join the line to the line. Towards the down part of the skirt, u make one or one point five inches curve in if you are making a pencil skirt. After the joining, u then cut the marked part out.

IMG-20171224-WA0014.jpeg

After this you put your tape at the center of the cloth and Mark four inches to the left and to the right, this varies with the sizes of the individual. It can be more or less, this is called dart. It gives the clothe a special kind of beauty. As seen on the image below.

IMG_20171224_221702.jpg

After marking the dart, you run your machine from the top to the bottom. You do the same for the other marked part for the dart. Then you can fix your zipper first and join the sides later or vice versa. That must be after the back of the skirt has been joined.

IMG_20171225_144137.jpg

I hope everyone can learn one or two things. I will make sure I take more pictures on my next post.

Kindly upvote and resteem..... Much love and happy new year. 😍

Sort:  

@meenar

Nice tutorial. I feel like I can sew already

Thank u, highly appreciated.

I love anything fashion, even though I don't practise it yet. I'm so eager to learn more about sewing ans designing.

Nice and welldone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39